The Telegraph
Friday , December 14 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

AICC launches ticket drill

Guwahati, Dec. 13: The AICC has started assessing the “winnability” of ticket-aspirants in Assam for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

As part of the drill, AICC deputed observer Jyoti, an MLC from Bihar met ticket aspirants and MLAs, MPs, district Pradesh committee presidents and block presidents from Guwahati, Dhubri and Kokrajhar constituencies at Rajiv Bhawan here today.

She met leaders from Diphu constituency comprising Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao districts yesterday and would do the same for Silchar, Karimganj and Barpeta over the next two days.

Another AICC observer Majji Sarada, an MLC member from Andhra Pradesh, is looking after the seven other constituencies.

The Congress won seven of the 14 seats in the 2009 elections but appears to be on a sticky wicket this time round.

Party insiders said Haren Das, Bolin Bordoloi, Robin Bordoloi, Manas Bora, Pankaj Borbora were among those who met Jyoti and offered their candidature for the Guwahati seat. Chandi Basumatary, Supriya Rani Brahma and Pani Ram Rabha did the same for Kokrajhar while Abu Taher Bepari and Mohibul Haque for Dhubri.

Sources said Kamrup district had proposed the names of Assam PCC president Bhubaneswar Kalita, former MLA Haren Das and DCC president H. Kalita for the Guwahati seat, which touches four districts — Kamrup, Kamrup (metro), Nalbari and Goalpara.

The sources said the assessment process was initiated fearing midterm poll but there is no such worry after the FDI vote which the Congress-led UPA won. “The early start will stand us in good stead,” one of them said.