The Telegraph
Sunday , December 2 , 2012
  This website is ACAP-enabled
Since 1st March, 1999
Calcutta Weather
Min : 14.30°C (-3)
Max : 28.20°C (-1)
Rainfall : 0.00 mm
Relative Humidity:
Max : 87.00% Min : 39.00%
Sunrise : 6:1 AM
Sunset : 4:52 PM
Mainly clear sky
CIMA Gallary

CBI nets six for violence

Kokrajhar, Dec. 1: The CBI today arrested six persons in connection with the killings of four Bodo youths on July 20 at Joypur in Kokrajhar that triggered violence in Kokrajhar which later spread to Chirang and Dhubri, killing around 100 people and rendering more than four lakh people homeless.

A senior CBI officer said the six were arrested from Joypur area under Kokrajhar police station.

The CBI arrested them under case number 10(S)/2012/CBI/SC-1.

The arrested have been identified as Mizanur Mondal, Jahirul Islam, Kahinur Ali Sheik, Arush Ali Sheik, Sahedul Sheik and Jalil Ali Sheik. They are in CBI custody in Kokrajhar and will be produced in Bongaigaon court tomorrow.

In September, the CBI arrested five persons from the Joypur area.

The CBI has constituted a 15-member team to probe the violence. The CBI team set up office at Bongaigaon Refinery and Petrochemicals Ltd complex at Dhaligaon in Chirang district from where they have been conducting investigations into seven cases related to the riots in the Bodoland Territorial Areas District (BTAD) and Dhubri district.

The CBI has taken up the cases, which were earlier registered by Assam police, on the state government’s request and after requisite notifications were issued by the Centre. Four of the cases were registered in Kokrajhar district, two in Chirang and one in Dhubri.

The CBI registered the cases on August 10.

The source said the CBI would identify the masterminds of the riots and find out whether any external force was involved.

The violence in July-August and later again in November brought political instability in the BTC administration. It also created a crack in the BPF-Congress coalition in Dispur following the arrests of two senior BPF leaders.

Pradip Kumar Brahma, a BPF legislator from West Kokrajhar, was arrested on August 24.

BTC executive member from Banargaon BTC constituency and president of Youth BPF, Mono Kumar Brahma, was picked up on November 17.