The Telegraph
Wednesday , November 28 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Thrilling win for Baroda

Rohtak: Utkarsh Patel and Bhargav Bhatt held their nerves under tremendous pressure to lead Baroda to a thrilling one-wicket win over Haryana in their Ranji Trophy Group B match, on Tuesday.

Chasing, 132 to win, Baroda were staring an unexpected defeat after being reduced to 108 for nine but Patel and Bhatt stitched an unbeaten 25-run partnership to steer the side home.

It meant that Haryana fast bowler Mohit Sharma’s sensational five-wicket haul went in vain and Baroda walked away with six points.The bowlers dominated the final day of the match as in all, 17 wickets fell.

The hosts began their second innings at a comfortable 127 for two but lost the remaining eight wickets with the addition of just 33 runs with Bhargav, Murtuja Vahora and Gagandeep Singh sharing the spoils. They took three wickets each.

Baroda would have hoped an easy cakewalk while chasing a modest 132-run target but Mohit Sharma bowled their opener Kedar Devdhar in the very first ball to begin the Haryana defense in style.

It got worse from bad for Baroda as soon they were struggling 33 for five. A 37-run stand for the seventh wicket between Saurabh Wakaskar (22) and Gagandeep Singh (24) revived their hopes but run out of the former again turned the tide in favour of Haryana.

Mohit bowled Ganagdeep too and also Haryana skipper Amit Mishra scalped Vahora (12) to bring the side close to win.

However, Utraksh and Bhargav showed nerves of steel to cross the finish line.Meanwhile, Odisha bowlers came up with a superb performance to steer their team to second win in a row and pocket six points as they crushed Karnataka by 65 runs.

Summarised Scores

Group A

In Bhubaneswar: Gujarat 117 & 551/8 decl.(M. Juneja 153 not out, R. Kalaria 100). Railways 308. Match drawn

In Hyderabad: Mumbai 443. Hyderabad 699 (B. Sandeep 117). Match drawn

Group B

In Bangalore: Odisha 202 & 255. Karnataka 213 & 179 (R. Uthappa 45, A. Sahoo 3/27). Odisha won by 65 runs

In Delhi: Delhi 555/4 decl. Tamil Nadu 226 & 220/2 (A. Karthik 121 not out). Match drawn

In Nagpur: Maharashtra 282 & 261/7 decl. Vidarbha 266 & 103/1 (U.Patel 54 not out). Match drawn

In Rohtak: Haryana 295 & 160. Baroda 324 and 133/9 (M. Sharma 5/50). Baroda won by 1 wicket

Group C

In Malappuram: Goa 512/8 decl. Kerala 297 & 120/4 (R. Fernandez 52 not out). Match drawn

In Ranchi: Jharkhand 236 & 244/2 (A. Verma 117, M. Vardhan 94 ..). Himachal Pradesh 442/7 decl. Match drawn. (Agencies)