The Telegraph
Wednesday , November 21 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Delhi, Baroda split points

New Delhi: Despite senior batsman Mithun Manhas and all-rounder Rajat Bhatia scoring centuries, Delhi were unable to surpass Baroda’s first innings total of 561 as the third round Ranji Trophy match ended in a barren draw with both teams getting a point each.

Delhi ended the final day’s play at 505 for six at the end of mandatory overs with Bhatia remaining unbeaten on 133. Manhas scored 106, which was also his second century of the competition after his 161 against Odisha in the last match. Since two innings weren’t complete, both teams got a point each as per the new BCCI rules.

Delhi now have 8 points, while Baroda are on seven after the third round. The home team needed 347 runs on the final day in 90 overs, which was difficult on a dead Kotla track with the ball keeping extremely low.

Yet, Manhas showed his class en route his 22nd first-class century as he hit 15 fours in 241 balls. The Manhas-Bhatia partnership produced 133 runs off 321 balls, which was quite admirable considering that Ambati Rayudu employed at least five fielders to save the boundaries.

In Bhubaneswar, the bowlers’ impressive display on the first day, followed by Uday Kaul’s century, proved to be decisive for Punjab as their efforts helped the side earn three points from their Group A match against Railways.

Summarised Scores

Group A

In Bhubaneswar: Railways 205 & 353/5 decl. (A. Paunikar 166). Punjab 314 & 59/2. Match drawn

In Hyderabad: Saurashtra 260 & 270/6 decl. Hyderabad 186 & 232/6 (B. Sandeep 50). Match drawn

In Jaipur: Madhya Pradesh 256 & 466/6 decl. (J. Saxena 76 not out, R. Khan 54 not out). Rajasthan 379 & 88/4. Match drawn

Group B

In Chennai: Tamil Nadu 276 & 149. Maharashtra 233 & 88 (A. Srinivas 3/15). Tamil Nadu won by 104 runs

In Delhi: Baroda 561. Delhi 505/6 (R. Bhatia 133 not out, M. Manhas 106). Match drawn

In Meerut: Uttar Pradesh 283 & 343/5 decl. (P. Singh 143 not out). Karnataka 181 & 274/8. Match drawn

In Rohtak: Haryana 66 & 300. Odisha 219 & 152/6 (G. Poddar 51). Odisha won by four wickets

Group C

In Agartala: Services 563 & 7/0. Tripura 484 (S. Ali 121, A. Dey 107; S. Nazar 6/108). Match drawn

In Jamshedpur: Jharkhand 360. Goa 208 & 292/8 (M. Bisla 90). Match drawn

In Malappuram: Kerala 264 & 294. Assam 286 & 201/6 (P. Das 92). Match drawn

In Nadaun: Andhra 372 & 282/7 decl. (A. Muzumdar 104). Himachal Pradesh 265 & 108/4. Match drawn