The Telegraph
Tuesday , October 9 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Kohli & Poonam only Indians in ICC XIs

Virat Kohli

Calcutta: Virat Kohli, Team India’s most consistent batsman in recent times, is the lone Indian to find a place in the ICC 2012 World T20 men’s XI.

Kohli scored 185 runs in India’s five matches.

Suresh Raina, however, was named the 12th man of the men’s team.

In the women’s XI, Poonam Raut was the only Indian to make the cut.

Finalists Sri Lanka and West Indies contributed a total of five players to the men’s team of the tournament, which was announced by the International Cricket Council, on Monday, in Colombo.

Mahela Jayawardene, who T20 captaincy after the final on Sunday, was named the skipper of the men’s team.

In the women’s team, finalists Australia and England provided nine players to the ICC XI. Charlotte Edwards, the losing captain in the final, has been selected to lead the team. Edwards was also named the women’s player of the tournament.

Chosen by a select group of experts, the team was aimed at being suited for Sri Lankan conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used, but were not the sole basis for selections.

In all, there are three players from beaten finalist Sri Lanka and two from champion West Indies in the men’s team. Australia, India, England, New Zealand and Pakistan are also represented in the 12-member squad.

The panel faced a difficult choice in a number of key positions and the relative merits of several players, who ultimately did not make the final XII, were debated at length.

Players who were considered included AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn of South Africa, David Warner of Australia, Tillekaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Smith and Sunil Narine of the West Indies.

In the women’s side, five players from champion Australia are represented while beaten finalist England has four representatives. The team also features players from India, West Indies and New Zealand.

The panel also struggled with deciding the final 12 for the women’s team and players who were considered included Danielle Wyatt and Lydia Greenway of England, Sophie Devine of New Zealand, Deandra Dottin of West Indies, Erin Osborne of Australia and South Africa’s Dane van Niekerk.