The Telegraph
Saturday , October 6 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Tennis event first in steel hub

- Over 200 participants from 3 states in Durgapur tournament

Durgapur, Oct. 5: Guru Teg Bahadur Public School of Durgapur hosted a three-day CBSE cluster-II table tennis tournament that ended on September 27.

Over 200 players from more than 20 schools from Bengal, Odisha and Jharkhand participated in the tournament that was held for the first time in the steel town at Sidho-Kanhu stadium.

“ Our school was the only one in Bengal to host the tournament organised by CBSE this year,” said Dipankar Ghosh, a teacher of Guru Teg Bahadur Public School and a co-ordinator of the event.

The tournament was inaugurated by Durgapur mayor and MLA Apurba Mukherjee.

Among the others present were Tapas Banerjee, MLA and chairperson of Asansol-Durgapur Development Authority; Ajay Nanda, the commissioner of police of Asansol-Durgapur Commissionerate; and former cricketer Sambaran Banerjee.

The opening ceremony began with the hoisting of the CBSE and the school flags. Twenty-four teams took part in a procession led by little boys and girls dressed as Bengali brides and grooms.

The school virtually turned into the “games village”, where the teams from outside Durgapur stayed. Classes remained suspended.

Food was served at the school hall. But many students preferred the stalls that were set up on the ground on the school compound.

“We provided everything from breakfast to dinner. The dining hall bustled with children enjoying their meals. Our teachers and students played a key role in conducting the entire event. Every day, food was cooked for around 300 people and served by the teachers and students. In the morning, health drinks, milk and fruit were served. At lunch and dinner, it was a combination of dishes from Bengal, Jharkhand and Odisha,” teacher Ghosh said.

The matches, conducted by the Bengal Table Tennis Association of Calcutta, were held from 8am to 9pm.

There were three categories — under-14, under-16 and under-19.

In the under-14 boys and girls category, Central Model School of Barrackpore and Mahadevi Birla Girls Higher Secondary School of Calcutta were the winners. In the under-16 boys and girls segment, DAV Model School of Durgapur emerged the winners.

The under-19 boys and girls trophies were won by Kalyani Public School in Barasat.

Players were also awarded individually. Shivaji Roy of Central Model School; Survi Patwari of Mahadevi Birla Girls Higher Secondary School; Souvik Banerjee of Kalyani Public School; Apurba Hazra of Laxmipat Singhania Academy of Calcutta; Prathikrit Roy and Prianka Das of Kalyani Public School were given awards for outstanding talent.

The prizes were given away by the Durgapur mayor, Mohun Bagan goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharya and national TT coach Jayanta Pushilal.

CBSE representative Ajay Kumar appreciated the effort of the school in organising the tournament.