The Telegraph
Sunday , September 16 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Virat Kohli voted ODI Cricketer of the Year

- Sangakkara walks away with three awards
Virat Kohli with his award, in Colombo, on Saturday

Calcutta: India’s Virat Kohli was voted the ODI Cricketer of the Year at the ICC annual awards function in Colombo, on Saturday.

Kumar Sangakkara won three awards, including the prestigious Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year. The former Sri Lanka captain also won the People’s Choice prize, an honour he had received last year as well.

“This is an amazing honour and I’ve seen the people who have won it before me and the nominees too... To be named alongside them is wonderful,” Sangakkara said after receiving the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for Cricketer of the Year.

“I admire them greatly and even more so when I looked up at their records on the screen this evening. It’s great to be amongst them. Now to receive this honour this evening, is simply fantastic.”

Previous winners of the Cricketer of the Year award include Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Jonathan Trott (2011).

Kohli won the award for his consistent performance over the last 12 months during which he amassed runs all over the world and against almost all the countries.

During the last one year, Kohli played 31 ODIs and scored 1733 runs at an outstanding average of 66.65, including eight hundreds and six half-centuries.

His highest score was 183, against Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

“I think I have tried to keep things as simple as possible and it’s worked for me on the field,” Kohli said.

“This year has been a learning curve along the way from the seniors in the team. It’s been an all-round effort and I’m very happy to have won this award.

“It’s always nice to be recognised by the ICC and it’s a great feeling and it’s the first time I’ve won one of these awards and it feels great,” he added.

In ODIs, Kohli has so far scored 3886 runs from 90 matches at an average of 51.81.

In Test cricket, he has scored 703 runs from 10 matches at an average of 41.35. He has two centuries and five fifties, with 116 being his best.

Up-and-coming West Indies spinner Sunil Narine has been named as the Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

The 24-year-old, follows in the footsteps of last year’s winner and fellow West Indies bowler, Devendra Bishoo, in claiming the award.

The off-spinner played in three Tests for the West Indies claiming 12 wickets at an average 31.50, while in the 15 ODIs he played in he claimed 28 wickets at an average of 18.82.

“We’ve a good junior set-up so hopefully the awards keep coming for us. I think this has been the best 12 months for me and I just keep adapting the best as possible.”

South Africa’s Richard Levi has won the ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year in recognition of his 51-ball 117 not out against New Zealand.