The Telegraph
Thursday , September 6 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

ICC rejects PCB plea


Karachi: Pressure is mounting on the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to boycott the annual ICC awards ceremony after the world governing body refused to include off-spinner Saeed Ajmal in the final list of nominations for any category.

The International Cricket Council and PCB appeared to be headed for a confrontation after the apex body rejected the plea to include Ajmal in the final list of nominees.

The ICC informed the PCB that their request to reconsider including Ajmal’s name in the final list of nominees for the ICC awards could not be entertained as the process to select the final nominees was based on voting by experts.

“They have informed us that they can’t include Ajmal now as all the nominees for the different awards were voted in by a panel of experts. But we feel this process is flawed,” PCB media manager, Nadeem Sarwar, said.

“We have already sent another letter to the ICC making it clear we are not happy with the process and we want it to be reviewed in the first place,” Sarwar added.

The omission of Ajmal’s name from the shortlist of nominees for the three major ICC annual awards — Test Cricketer of the Year, International Player of the Year and the ODI Player of the Year — has caused surprise even among former greats from other Test playing nations.

Ajmal has not been considered for any category although he was named as the only spinner in the ICC Test Team of the Year.

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangkarra, South Africans Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander and Australia captain Michael Clarke have been nominated for Test Cricketer of the Year award.