The Telegraph
Thursday , August 23 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

A lacklustre Md. Sp. held

Action during Mohammedan Sporting’s match against Calcutta Port Trust, at the Salt Lake Stadium, on Wednesday. A Telegraph picture

Calcutta: Mohammedan Sporting missed a penalty and squandered numerous chances to draw 0-0 against Calcutta Port Trust in the Calcutta Football League Premier Division match at the Salt Lake Stadium on Wednesday.

Midfielder Jayanta Sen was the culprit as his penalty kick hit the crossbar in the 57th minute after Alfred Jaryan was pushed by Port’s Sukamal Santra inside the box.

For Mohammedan Sporting coach Aloke Mukherjee, it was a disappointing start to the season. Speaking to the media after the match, Alok said: “Generally, Alfred takes the penalties. But I don’t know what happened in the middle as Jayanta stepped up. It was absolutely disappointing to see him hitting the crosspiece.”

Mohammedan Sporting started the match on a positive note, ransacking the opponent defence every now and then. Mohammed Muktar was the most impressive player for Mohammedan Sporting, displaying good skills on the left wing. His distribution was also accurate but the wayward strikers, Alfred and Ashim Biswas made a mess of the chances.

Mohammedan Sporting could have taken the lead in the 15th minute had Dhanrajan not missed the target by a whisker after Muktar brilliantly released him.

In the 27th minute, Muktar sent a cross for Alfred from the right. But the striker failed to place the ball.

Three minutes later, Mohammedan Sporting got another chance but Port ’keeper Maidul Islam did well to parry away David Sunday’s right footer.

In the second half also, the script did not change for Mohammedan Sporting as the players failed to produce a goal despite creating chances.

In other matches, Kalighat Club edged past Police AC 2-1 while Tollygunge Agragami beat West Bengal Police 1-0. Aryan Club, on the other hand, thrashed Eastern Railway 6-0.


Mohammedan Sporting: Arnab Das Sharma, Dhanarajan, Kinshuk Debnath, Sheikh Azim, Phoolchand Hebram, Mohammed Muktar (Shin Hojun 67’), Jayanta Sen, David Sunday, Monirul Mondal (Gouranga Dutta 51’), Alfred Jaryan, Ashim Biswas.

Calcutta Port Trust: Maidul Islam, Hira Roy, Sukamal Santra, Saswata Das, Sarip Ali Molla (Sanjib Pramanik 76’), Andrea Silva, Sovan Das (Anwesan Das 84’), Prasanta Chakraborty (Raja Thakur 53’), Subhash Banerjee, Taiwo Sayo, Abhishek Aich.

Referee: Ajit Dutta