The Telegraph
Saturday , August 18 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Roger Binny will be the face of South

Calcutta: Former all-rounder Roger Binny will be Krishnamachari Srikkanth’s successor as the selector from South. Both, incidentally, were members of the 1983 World Cup-winning XI.

According to a top source of The Telegraph, Board president Narayanswamy Srinivasan has already given a “verbal assurance” to the Karnataka State Cricket Association chief Anil Kumble and secretary Jawagal Srinath to that effect.

Unlike in the past, the national selectors (who’re paid a very handsome Rs 40 lakh per annum) are now ‘picked’ by the Board’s office-bearers, instead of being nominated by their respective zones.

However, that’s not to say that the zonal units aren’t consulted or that they can’t ‘lobby’ for a candidate.

Whether Binny, a former nominated Member of the Legislative Council in Karnataka, will also succeed Srikkanth as the selection committee chairman, depends on Mohinder Amarnath’s future.

As Amarnath (North) came on board in 2011-12, technically, he has three years to go. Srikkanth, Narendra Hirwani (Central), Surendra Bhave (West) and Raja Venkat (East) have each completed four years.

Apparently, at least two units from North are “very upset” with the Goa-based Amarnath and, if they have their way, then he won’t be there.

Nothing has been cast in stone, but it seems that former India ’keeper and opener Deep Dasgupta is the front-runner from East. Dasgupta is Bengal’s chief selector.

However, left-arm spinner Arup Bhattacharya’s name is also doing the rounds and influential politicians are understood to be canvassing for him.

There have been whispers about Syed Saba Karim (India, undivided Bihar, Bengal), but he’s shifted base to New Delhi. Moreover, a key official of the Jharkhand State Cricket Association insisted that they wouldn’t press for him.

Fancying his chance may well be Devang Gandhi, who has opened for India and has just been appointed the Bengal A coach.

As things stand, former India pacer Abey Kuruvilla could come in from West, while Sunil Chaturvedi or Rajinder Singh Hans (both of whom have played for UP) may take Hirwani’s place. A word of caution — it’s all rather fluid.

The new committee will come into being at the Board’s AGM, next month.