The Telegraph
Wednesday , July 25 , 2012
  This website is ACAP-enabled
Since 1st March, 1999
Calcutta Weather
Min : 28.00°C (+2)
Max : 33.10°C (+1)
Rainfall : 15.60 mm
Relative Humidity:
Max : 89.00% Min : 69.10%
Sunrise : 5:6 AM
Sunset : 6:21 PM
One or two spells of rain or thundershower.
Ramzan Timing
Sehri: 3:36
Iftar: 6:26
CIMA Gallary


The President-elect leaves home at 13 Talkatora Road. Reaches Rajghat, Mahatma Gandhi’s samadhi. Also on the list are the samadhis of Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi. Back to residence

The President-elect and his spouse leave home for Rashtrapati Bhavan. The President waits for them in the study

The President and the President-elect get into the President’s limousine and leave the North Court of Rashtrapati Bhavan for the Forecourt. The President-elect sits on the right side of the President in a right-hand driven car

On the Forecourt, the President and the President-elect take the saluting dais. The secretary to the President, aide-de-camp and other officials follow. The President takes the salute with the President-elect standing to her right

The President’s Bodyguards sing the national anthem. The limousine takes the two to the Jaipur Column — a tall sandstone shaft on the Forecourt — where the 28 Madras Guard, part of the President’s Bodyguards, salutes the President

The car moves out of Rashtrapati Bhavan to Gate No. 5 of Parliament House

1,000 soldiers, from the three services, line the route. They give the Thousand Salute or the Hazar Salaam to both

At Gate No. 5, the President is given the national salute by the Bodyguards with the President- elect standing to her right

Chief Justice of India S.H. Kapadia, ADCs, Rajya Sabha chairperson Hamid Ansari and Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar join them at this point. They go in a procession to the Central Hall of Parliament

The President occupies the chair at the centre of the dais. To her right are the President-elect and the CJI. To her left are Ansari and Meira Kumar

The Prime Minister, chief ministers, governors, diplomats, MPs, three service chiefs and key civil and military officials are present in the Central Hall as guests

Patil reaches the dais, the national anthem is played and everyone sits. Home secretary R.K. Singh takes the President’s permission to read out the Election Commission notification on the new President

The national anthem is played again. The Chief Justice administers the oath of office to the new President

Patil and the new President swap their seats and the new President occupies the seat at the centre of the dais

A 21-gun salute follows. The secretary to the President places the oath register before the new President who signs on it

The new President reads out an acceptance address

Roll of drums begins and the national anthem is played. The new President and the others proceed to Gate No. 5. The President’s Bodyguards give the national salute

The ceremonial procession leaves for Rashtrapati Bhavan. The new President comes out in a buggy from the North Court to the Forecourt and climbs on a jeep for inspection of the guard of honour by the tri-services. He returns to the study

After some time, the President and the former President leave in a buggy for a ceremony in front of the Durbar Hall where a special marquee will be erected. The former President will then take the final guard of honour

Farewell to the former President. The new President escorts the former President to her new residence on 2 Tughlaq Lane

The new President, with his family, will stay in the guest wing for some time till the family wing is redone according to the requirements of the new occupants.

 More stories in Front Page

  • State slides on green index
  • Plea to seal borders
  • FDI inflows witness sharp dip in May
  • UPA silent on Assam riots
  • 'Trickle down' will not work in tackling poverty: President Pranab Mukherjee
  • Tech park cherry on Infocom cake
  • Kapil Dev back in BCCI fold after sorting out differences
  • SC cages tiger tour, stirs deep concern
  • Taxi operators go on Strike
  • Five rioters gunned down