The Telegraph
Friday , June 22 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Sports Briefs

Jwala & Diju in quarters

New Delhi: Olympic-bound Indian mixed doubles pair of Jwala Gutta and V. Diju defeated Malaysian duo of Aik Quan Tan and Pei Jing Lai in straight games to reach the quarter finals of the Singapore Super Series on Thursday. The sixth-seeded Indian pair beat Tan and Lai 21-15, 21-15.

Harwant third

New Delhi: India’s Harwant Kaur came up with her season’s best effort but finished third in the discus throw in Moscow Championship. Harwant’s 58.32m effort was well short of Olympics qualification B standard of 59.50m.

Kim in semis

Den Bosch: Former world No. 1 Kim Clijsters defeated Francesca Schiavone of Italy 6-3, 7-6(7) in the quarter finals of the Den Bosch Open, on Thursday. The others to move into the semi-finals were Urszula Radwanska of Poland and Nadia Petrova.

Sourav upsets

Chennai: Aditya Mehta on Thursday advanced to the quarter finals of the International Invitation Snooker Championship with a 4–0 thrashing of Divya Sharma here. In another match, Sourav Kothari upset top seed and compatriot Rafath Habib by four frames to two.

Court decision

Calcutta: State sports minister Madan Mitra’s decision to dissolve all the district sports councils was struck down in the Calcutta High Court on Thursday which described it as ‘illegal and invalid’.

Justice Dipankar Dutta, who is hearing the case challenging the dissolution, while delivering his interim order, said, “Till the disposal of this issue before the court, the sports department has been restrained from giving effect to its notification (on dissolving the councils).”

World Cup

Calcutta: Tarundeep Rai will take on France’s Gael Prevost in the bronze medal match of the men’s recurve individual event of the World Cup Stage III at Ogden in the US.

Pranjala support

Calcutta: Infrastructure developer GVK Group, which supported Sania Mirza in her formative years, has now decided to sponsor another talented Hyderabadi, Yadlapalli Pranjala, currently India’s No. 1 among U-14 girls in tennis.

13-man squad

Calcutta: The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) selection panel on Thursday named a 13-man A squad to face India A in two T20 matches.


Kieran Powell, Samuel Badree, Christopher Barnwell, Sulieman Benn, Nkrumah Bonner, Jonathan Carter, Jason Holder, Danza Hyatt, Delorn Johnson, Garey Mathurin, Jason Mohammed, Krishmar Santokie, Devon Thomas

Eighth term

Chennai: BCCI chief N. Srinivasan was on Thursday re-elected unopposed as president of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association for the eighth consecutive year at its 82nd AGM

Staff Reporter & Agencies