The Telegraph
Wednesday , June 6 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Nirsa taste first win

- Saurabh helps Sindri make DPL comeback

Aided by some disciplined bowling, Nirsa Warriors opened its victory account at the ongoing Dhanbad Premier League (DPL) on Monday while opponents Jharia Janbaaz tasted second defeat in a row.

In the other floodlight match of the day at the railway grounds in Dhanbad, the star-studded Sindri team, powered by a splendid knock by Saurabh Tiwary, got back to the winning mode as it outplayed Dhanbad Dangers.

Winning the toss, the Nirsa squad elected to bat and scored a modest total of 143/10 in 20 overs with the last wicket dramatically falling on the last ball when Bhanu Kharti was declared run out.

Ketan Singh of Nirsa Warriors, who smashed five boundaries and one six to pull off 30 runs in 17 balls, was declared Man of the Match for showing some fast action. Opener Ramiz Nemat’s six boundary-studded 38 runs off 34 balls was the top score for his team.

For Jharia Janbaaz, the only saving grace was bowler Amir Raza Khan, who scalped three for 14 in three overs, apart from captain Amir Hashmi, who batted fiercely to make 54 runs in 40 balls. Hashmi’s great going (he hit three boundary hits and an equal number of sixes) was stalled by Nirsa’s Ketan Singh, who caught him at the ball of Asif Fahad.

Ayan Thakur’s 36 off 39 balls with the help of three sixes also went in vain as no other batsman took the risk to hit the ball hard and the team could eventually manage only 133 runs at the loss of five wickets in 20 overs.

Hashmi blamed poor fielding and slow batting for the defeat. “The total of 144 was not a big target and we ought to have hit the ball much faster and quicker. We could have also saved around 20 more runs on the field,” he said.

On the other hand, Sindri Sher recovered from their Sunday shocker, when the team lost to Katras King, to record a win against Dhanbad Dangers. Saurabh Tiwary, who had also disappointed in that match, was back in the groove with 66 runs to be crowned the Man of the Match.

Sindri Sher won the toss and elected to field. Some fine bowling action ensured that the runs trickled in slow and Dhanbad Dangers was restricted to only 124 runs in 20 overs.

Manoj Kumar of Dhanbad Dangers hit four boundaries and two sixes to score 36 runs off 23 balls and become the highest scorer for his team.

K.S. Rao and Bhagirath took two wickets each for Sindri Sher while Ajatsatru, Pratik Ranjan, Rakesh Bihari and Pratik Raj scalped one each. In response, Sindri Sher scored 128 runs in 19.2 overs. S.P. Gautam contributed with 21 runs in 38 balls.

Mihir Diwakar of Dhanbad Dangers took two wickets while Rahul Shukla, Manoj Kumar and Amit Mishra claimed one each.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • Power pangs on for 36 hours
  • Tata boys in handball squad
  • An Xpert to track TB
  • Robbers strike at petrol bunk, ATM
  • Robbery at Coke agent's office
  • Bribe cuffs on PDS official
  • Nirupama lover in judicial custody
  • 800 get hands dirty on Green Day
  • Water tops Hemant list
  • Sahay plans focus shift
  • Red card at soccer cradle
  • Cradle gets nod for BEd course
  • Marching on green road
  • Nirsa taste first win