The Telegraph
Tuesday , September 27 , 2011
Since 1st March, 1999
Calcutta Weather
Min : 27.40°C (+1)
Max : 33.10°C (+1)
Rainfall : 17.70 mm
Relative Humidity:
Max : 96.00% Min : 72.00%
Sunrise : 5:30 AM
Sunset : 5:27 PM
Partly cloudy sky. Rain or thundershower may occur.
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Award tribute to unique teachers

Hira Prasad of Birla High School for Boys (junior section) uses ludo and music to teach her students arithmetical concepts like the lowest common multiple (LCM) and highest common factor (HCF). She often takes her music system to school and asks the kids to divide themselves into groups or find partners to dance with.

“Invariably one child is left without a partner and he becomes the remainder. All kids love to dance and play. I try to teach them mathematical concepts through their favourite activities. Once the concepts are clear in their head, I go back to conventional teaching,” said a glowing Prasad after winning the Innovator’s Award at the Aakash Institute presents TTIS Golden Flame Awards 2011 at the Bengal Club on Sunday.

Sanghamitra Dasgupta of Shri Shikshayatan School turned her students into confident communicators and excellent storytellers. “I often ask my students to rewrite stories, like the Aesop’s fable The Ant and the Grasshopper, using their own dialogues. They come up with such interesting endings,” said the winner of The Communicator Award.

The awards night saw teachers from some of the best schools in the city pitted against each other in seven categories. Prasad’s colleague at Birla High, Jayati Bhattacharjee won the Scales Award, given to a teacher who excels consistently over the years. The other nominees were Apurba Deb of Kalyani Central Model School and Aparajita Bandopadhyay of National English School.

Bhattacharjee, a senior school science teacher, said she did not teach with exams in mind but impart lessons that would come in handy in different situations. There was much cheering from the teachers of Birla High as the winners walked away with their trophies.

Madhupa Chakraborty of Delhi Public School Megacity won The Touchstone Award, Jhuma Sinha of The Future Foundation School won The Mathemagician Award, Keya Chakrabarti of Kalyani Central Model School won The Aristotle Award and Elora Chattopadhyay of St Sebastian’s School won The TTIS Award.

The TTIS Award is given to the teacher who manages to inculcate a sense of social responsibility among his/her students. St Sebastian being an inclusive school, Chattopadhyay felt that she was bringing up a more sensitive generation.

“It is not a one-time job. Over the years I have managed to induct special and underprivileged students into the mainstream. It is so nice to see the love and bonding between the students. Nobody feels like an outsider in our school,” added the in-charge of the primary section of the school. Anup Kumar Jain of Don Bosco Liluah and Joseph Chacko of St James School were the other nominees in that category.

The evening opened on a musical note. Percussionist Bickram Ghosh teamed up with his guru Pandit S. Sekhar to leave the audience enthralled in a performance that was a tribute to all teachers.

Email This Page