The Telegraph
Saturday , July 9 , 2011
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
District lens on no-vote villages

Jamshedpur, July 8: East Singhbhum district administration will soon hold meetings with villagers who boycotted the Jamshedpur bypoll on July 1, additional deputy commissioner Bijay Kumar Sinha briefed the media today.

Sinha, who addressed newsmen in the absence of returning officer-cum-deputy commissioner East Singhbhum Himani Pande, said they were aware of the bypoll boycott across six booths. “There was no polling held in booth numbers 98 (Daldali), 193 (Netra), 194 (Bareda), 107 (Mangru), 71 (Degam) and 317 (Jugsalai Assembly constituency). We would have welcomed it if villagers had lodged their grievances on the lack of basic amenities with us, but we can’t condone vote boycott,” he said.

The electorate in these booths had boycotted the bypoll citing lack of basic amenities like power, road and water facilities in their areas.

Sinha said the 20 candidates in the bypoll had been asked to submit their detailed expense records by August 2. The final report of expenditure observer Samir Chitkara will be sent to Election Commission of India’s office in Ranchi and New Delhi headquarters.

The administration will also slap showcause against 100 government employees for not reporting for poll duty.

On the CD controversy, in which BJP leaders alleged newly-elected MP Ajoy Kumar had Naxalite links, Sinha said that East Singhbhum SSP Akhilesh Kumar Jha said the issue was now in the Chief Judicial Magistrate court.

Email This Page