The Telegraph
Monday , September 20 , 2010
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
New Wada list brings in hope

New Delhi: The decision of the World Anti-Doping Agency (Wada) to move methylhexaneamine into the list of specified drugs may pave the way for some of India’s dope tainted athletes to participate in the Commonwealth Games next month.

In the last few weeks, 12 Indian sportspersons, including seven from Commonwealth Games teams, tested positive for methylhexaneamine and were put under provisional suspension.

While the wrestling squad was the hardest hit with four national team grapplers failing the tests, two swimmers and one athlete were also found guilty of the same offence.

According to Rahul Bhatnagar, the chairman of the National Anti Doping Agency (Nada) in the capital, Wada has taken notice of this recent rash of positive cases for methylhexaneamine in India and in its executive committee meeting on Saturday has decided to classify the drug as a specified substance than a non-specified substance.

“As per the rules, an athlete could be let off with a warning or be placed under suspension up to two years if he or she fails the test for a specified substance,” Bhatnagar said.

The Wada decision has definitely come as a relief for the tainted athletes. This is because the ruling is likely play a role in influencing the anti-doping disciplinary panel, which has asked the tainted sportspersons to appear for a hearing on Wednesday.

Despite the Wada decision, the officials of the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) and Swimming Federation of India (SFI) remained unconvinced.

“In our opinion, the wrestlers will still remain dope offenders even if they are let off with a warning. In that case, we have to think whether to take them back in the squad,” said a senior WFI official.

The swimming officials feel there is no point in including the tainted swimmers in the team as they stand little chance of winning medals in the Commonwealth Games.

Tainted athletes

Commonwealth Games: Rajiv Tomar, Sumit, Mausam Khatri and Gursharanpreet Kaur (all wrestling), Richa Mishra and Jyotsna Pansare (both swimming), Sourabh Vij (athletics).

Others: Rahul Mann and Joginder Kumar (both wrestling), Akash Antil (athletics), Sanamacha Chanu (weightlifting), Amar Muralitharan (swimming).

Email This Page