The Telegraph
Monday , August 2 , 2010
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Mark stays calm

Budapest: Mark Webber kept his feet firmly on the ground after winning Sunday’s Hungarian Grand Prix and taking over as leader in the F1 world championship.

His sixth career win lifted him four points clear of 2008 champion Lewis Hamilton of McLaren in the title race.

But, the Red Bull driver said he was taking nothing for granted. “To maximise your opportunities is always good, irrespective of what happens to our rivals,” said Webber.

“But we are not getting ahead of ourselves. There are some big races coming up, all different challenges for us and technically for the cars. It’s nice to have a few more points than other people, but we are not getting ahead of ourselves.”

Webber said luck was on his side during an incident-packed race that saw his Red Bull team-mate Sebastian Vettel pick up a drive-through penalty for infringing the safety car rules.

“It was a bit of a gift for me — I haven’t had many but I will take it. Tough luck for Seb,” said Webber, who started from second on the grid. “Unless Seb had a technical problem, he was on pole, he was leading the first stint and unless he made a mistake it was probably his race”.(agencies)

Hungarian Grand Prix


1. Mark Webber (Red Bull) 1: 41: 05.571; 2. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) 1:41:23.392; 3. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) 1:41:24.823; 4. Felipe Massa (Ferrari) 1:41:33.045; 5. Vitaly Petrov (Renault) 1:42:18.763; 6. Nico Hulkenberg (Williams) 1:42:22.294; 7. Pedro de la Rosa (Sauber) 1:41:06.407; 8. Jenson Button (McLaren) 1:41:07.854; 9. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber) 1:41:08.856; 10. Rubens Barrichello (Williams) 1:41:10.638; 11. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes) 1:41:30.110; 12. Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso) 1:41:36.709; 13. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Force India) 1:41:37.358; 14. Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus) 1:41:07.636; 15. Jarno Trulli (Lotus) 1:41:08.524; 16. Timo Glock (Virgin) 1:41:35.185; 17. Bruno Senna (HRT) 1:42:04.467; 18. Lucas di Grassi (Virgin) 1:42:03.173; 19. Sakon Yamamoto (HRT) 1:42:33.460; r. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) 35:1.949; r. Robert Kubica (Renault) 37:17.202; r. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 22:25.484; r. Adrian Sutil (Force India) 22:34.450; r. Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rosso) 1:44.020


Drivers: 1. Mark Webber (Red Bull) 161 points; 2. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) 157; 3. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) 151; 4. Jenson Button (McLaren) 147; 5. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) 141; 6. Felipe Massa (Ferrari) 97; 7. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes GP) 94; 8. Robert Kubica (Renault) 89; 9. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes GP) 38; 10. Adrian Sutil (Force India) 35

Constructors: 1. RedBull 312 points; 2. McLaren 304; 3. Ferrari 238; 4. Mercedes GP 132; 5. Renault 106; 6. Force India 47; 7. Williams 40; 8. BMW Sauber 23; 9. Toro Rosso 10; 10. Lotus 0

Email This Page