The Telegraph
Monday , January 25 , 2010
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Shaky Tezpur claim title
- Lakhimpur bowlers hit back on Day II, but fail to see team through

Dibrugarh, Jan. 24: Tezpur registered a three-wicket victory over Lakhimpur in a two- day final which ended today, to clinch the title in the Amarjit Sarmah inter-district (u-15) cricket tournament at Golaghat District Sports Association stadium.

Requiring only 72 for victory in the second innings, Tezpur scored the runs in 31.5 overs but not before faltering and losing seven wickets. Sanjay Kanti Roy topscored with 24, while Saurabh Singh made 10. For Lakhimpur, medium pacer Jayanta Doley took three wickets for 28 runs, while Man of the Match medium pacer Amar Alam took two for 28.

Earlier in the match, which started on Saturday, Lakhimpur won the toss and elected to bat.

The team scored 88 losing all their wickets in 39.3 overs in their first innings. M. Hafizuddin made 15 runs while Gautam Gogoi scored 13. For Tezpur, medium pacer Razzakuddin Ahmed took six wickets.

In reply, Tezpur scored 99 in 47.4 overs with Saurabh Singh top-scoring with 28, while Binoy Changmai made 16. Medium pacer Alam ran through the Tezpur batting line-up snaring eight wickets for 32 runs.

Lakhimpur scored 48 for the loss of five wickets in their second innings when stumps were drawn. Resuming at 48 for five, Lakhimpur were bundled out for 82 runs in 38.3 overs today.

Parag Dutta made 24, while Debojit Gogoi scored 10. Left arm spinner Junaid Akhtar Ansari captured four wickets for 13, while Razzakuddin Ahmed took two for 23.

ACA general secretary Bikash Baruah, Golaghat deputy commissioner Harendra Nath Birah and the president of GDSA Ajit Baruah were present during the prize distribution ceremony.

Baruah gifted a bat to Lakhimpur’s Manas Pratim Dutta for scoring the lone century of the tournament. Manas had scored 101 for Lakhimpur in the semi-final match against Barpeta.

Email This Page