The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Hosts look forward to make amends

Jamshedpur, Nov. 10: After a string of poor performances, Jharkhand looks eager to make amends in their last Col CK Nayudu Trophy (Under-22) tie against Himachal Pradesh. The four-day match begins at Keenan Stadium tomorrow.

Both the outfits had an extended session at the nets this morning. Himachal Pradesh, who reached the city on Sunday evening, also sweated it out yesterday afternoon.

The outfits have played three matches each but Jharkhand has lot at stake. Having lost two matches (against Gujarat and Goa), the homeside needs some impetus in their batting to win the last tie. The state earned one point in their drawn match versus Vidharbha.

In comparison, the visitors had a satisfactory performance. Himachal Pradesh has six points in their kitty and the tie versus Jharkhand has apparently put them in a do-or-die situation. The visitors earned two points in drawn matches against Vidharbha and Gujarat and four points by posting a win versus Goa.

“It is a do-or-die tie for us. We want to qualify for the knock-out round and so, we need to win this match against Jharkhand. We are confident about our chances,” Himachal Pradesh team manager Shiv Kapoor told The Telegraph.

Led by all-rounder Varun Sharma, the Himachal outfit will bank on their batsmen Rishi Dhavan, Jaskaran Malhotra, Neeraj Chauhan, M. Mohil and Amit Kumar on a wicket that looks spinner-friendly.

Medium-pacers Asim Narang, Monty Sharma, Akshay Chauhan and Abhishek Kumar, left-arm spinners Harminder Singh and Vishal Sharma, and leggi Ajay Saklani will control the bowling department. Skipper Sharma is also good with his off-spin.

But, Jharkhand has to forget the past and go all out for the match in hand. The hosts have made two changes from the squad that played against Vidharbha. Basukinath and Deobrat Das have replaced Prashant Rahul and Shravan Kumar.

Batters, including skipper Keshav Kumar, Basukinath, Deobrat Das, Shishir Kumar Tiwary and others will have to fire they want a happy ending for their side. In the last two matches, Jharkhand batters came up with poor show.

“We are looking to make amends for our past mistakes. We will try to put in a better show tomorrow,” said a Jharkhand team management official.

The team of Jharkhand: Keshav Kumar (captain), Basukinath, Nishant Kumar, Deobrat Das, Ajay Mishra, Shishir Kumar Tiwary, Sujit Kumar Yadav, Samar Quadri, Rahul Mishra, Ashish Kumar, Chandan Singh, Nikhil Singh, Sachin Prasad, Aasif Fahad and Indrajeet Kumar. Coach: Deepak Kumar.

Himachal Pradesh: Varun Sharma (captain), Rishi Dhavan, Asim Narang, Jaskaran Malhotra, Neeraj Chauhan, Vishal Sharma, M. Mohil, Amit Kumar, Ajay Kumar, Monty Sharma, Ajay Rana, Harminder Singh, Akshay Chauhan, Abhishek Kumar and Abhimanyu Rana. Coach: Anuj Pal.

Email This Page