The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Stringent security for match

Silchar T20 cricket

Hailakandi, Dec. 5: The district administration has made elaborate security arrangements for tomorrow’s Twenty20 prize money cricket match between ONGC and Air India at Satindra Mohan Dev Stadium in Silchar to be played under floodlights.

The match is of crucial importance for the district sports association (DSA), according to its secretary Babul Hore.

Hosting the match successfully will help Silchar earn a place on the map of international cricket venues, Hore said.

Senior police and DSA officials today reviewed security arrangements inside the 24,000-capacity stadium. Till today, only 7,000 tickets were sold, DSA sources said.

The superintendent of police, Violet Baruah, announced that mobile phones, radios, cameras (both still and video), bottles, alcohol, cigarettes, lighters, matches and crackers would not be allowed inside the stadium. The spectators will be thoroughly frisked.

Nearly 70 per cent of police personnel from all the police stations of Barak Valley will be brought to Silchar to ensure smooth conduct of the match.

Hore said Rs 6 lakh would be given to the winner and Rs 4 lakh to the losing side.

DSA sources said the Air India team, barring last-minute changes, would include:

Vijay Dahiya, Robin Uthappa, Md Kaif, Suresh Raina, Sidhartha Trivedi, J. Arunkumar, Ajit Chandela, Sachin Rana, M. Bisla, Sonu Sharma, Tejaswi Yadav, Gagandeep Singh, Sushanta Miramey, Dinesh Solanki and Rohit Prakash.

The ONCG team is likely to comprise:

Gagan Khoda, Sandip Sharma, R. Shyam, Mithun Manhas, M. Tehlan, Md Saif, Ajay Ratra, Pravin Kumar, Virat Kohli, Sarandeep Singh, Pradip Sangwan, Amit Bhandari, S. Narwal, V. Malik and F. Gayas.

Email This Page