The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Hosts emerge champs
- North Bengal in second place with 14 medals, including 4 gold

Guwahati, Nov. 19: Hosts Assam and Meghalaya Frontier emerged champions in the 31st BSF inter-frontier athletics meet that concluded at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium at Sarusajai here today.

The hosts tallied a total of 19 medals in the 23-event tournament. The tally included nine gold, three silver and seven bronze for a total of 128 points in the tournament.

Assam and Meghalaya Frontier were trailed by North Bengal with 99 points. They had bagged four gold, two silver and eight bronze to come second. South Bengal tallied 81 points and had to be content with the third place in the medals’ tally.

The South Bengal account comprised three gold, five silver and four bronze.

Mizoram and Cachar Frontier, however, failed to win a single medal and languished at the bottom of the 11-team tally. They, however, were not alone. Kashmir Frontier and the Gujarat Frontier, too, failed to win a single medal in the meet.

The final day’s proceedings started today with the 42-km marathon which was won by Raju Singh of Assam and Meghalaya Frontier clocking 2.34:49 hours while his teammate H. Ingoba Meetai bagged the silver with a timing of 2.42:34 hours.

Tapas Ghosh of North Bengal Frontier got the bronze clocking 2.43:04 hours.

Naresh Kindo of the Assam and Meghalaya Frontier emerged the fastest man in the meet clocking 10.65 seconds for the 100-metre gold.

He was also adjudged the Best Athlete of the meet. Anil Kumar Mishra (10.8 seconds) of Punjab Frontier and Kuldeep Singh (10.98 seconds) of South Bengal Frontier bagged the silver and the bronze respectively.

The Assam and Meghalaya Frontier quartet of Rameswar Pawara, Jitender Singh, Sunil M.V. and Sibhash S. bagged the ninth gold for the hosts in the 4x400-metre relay clocking 3.26:35 minutes.

In decathlon, Ravi Kumar and Vikram Singh of Jammu Frontier bagged the gold and the silver respectively while S. Sanju of North Bengal Frontier got the bronze.

Meghalaya governor R.S. Mooshahary, a former director-general of the BSF, attended the closing ceremony as the chief guest and lauded the initiative of the Assam and Meghalaya Frontier in organising the meet for the first time in the region.

Email This Page