The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Title for Jorhat

Guwahati, April 7: Jorhat Gymkhana Club (A) emerged the best gross team winner in the 2nd ONGC Golf Tournament at the Jorhat Gymkhana Club golf course on Sunday.

The team comprised D.K. Duarah, Pritam Dutta, Hardip Singh and Nagesh Singh.

The Oil India Limited Zaloni (A) team, comprising P.P. Dutta, D. Thakuria, S.M. Hussain and S. Gogoi, were the gross team runners-up.

The Army 41 Sub-Area (A) team, comprising Brig. B.P. Singh, Col. B. Dev Burman, Col S.C.S. Pathnia and Wing Commander R. Murali emerged the best nett team winners, outplaying the Jorhat Gymkhana Club (C) team, which comprised Joyraj Mahanta, K. Vidyasagar, Depen Bordoloi and K.S. Bhinder.Lt Col A.K. Sharma of 41 Sub Area bagged the individual nett title, defeating P.K. Bezbaruah of Jorhat Gymkhana Club.

Yogi Sisodia of Moran Club bagged the stableford title, outplaying Vineet Kumar of Seleng Club.

Nagesh Singh won the special prize for the longest drive and J.T. Mahavar bagged a special prize for being nearest to the pin.

Altogether 58 golfers, representing 13 teams, participated in the daylong event.

The teams included those from ONGC (Nazira), OIL (Duliajan), Army 41 Sub-Area, Air Force and tea clubs from Moran, Misa, Seleng and Mariani.

ONGC (Nazira)’s executive director, J.G. Chaturvedi, who was also a player in the event, was the chief guest at the prize distribution ceremony.

Email This Page