The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Sivasagar boys defeat Tezpur

Mangaldoi, Feb. 29: Defending champions Sivasagar today defeated Tezpur by virtue of a first innings lead in the second two-day semifinal at Mangaldoi Stadium here to set the stage for a final clash with Silchar on Sunday and Monday.

Chasing a first innings target of 142 runs, Sivasagar resumed their innings today with the overnight score of 91 for seven in 36 overs. The Sivasagar team was finally all out for 171 in 57.2 overs in their first innings today.

In reply, Tezpur posted a second innings total of 136 for seven in 44.4 overs before declaring their innings. Sivasagar were 83 for two at the end of the second day’s play and entered the final by virtue of a first innings lead.

Sivasagar, in their first innings, saw Biswajit Mazindar Baruah, who was at crease for nought at draw of stumps yesterday, topscoring with an unbeaten knock of 58. His 72-ball innings included eight fours and a six. Santanu Bora (33) was another notable scorer. Medium pacer Roshan Basfore was the most successful Tezpur bowler, having hauled 5 for 61 while Shyam Babu Sahni notched up four wickets for 36.

For Tezpur, Mintu Das (40, 6x4) was the topscorer in the second innings while Roshan Basfore (27) and Prakshay Duggar (21) were the other notable scorers. Bharat Newar of Sivasagar scalped three, giving away 39 runs. Chandan Prakash and Bicky Bharali scored 27 each for Sivasagar in the second innings and Bharat Newar remained not out on 10.

Email This Page