The Telegraph
  My Yahoo!
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page

7-wicket win for Kalighat

Kalighat Club beat Shibpur Institute by seven wickets in a CAB league match on Saturday. Batting first, Shibpur scored 138 with Sourashis Lahiri claiming four for 48. Mohammed Ziauddin scored an unbeaten 57 in Kalighat’s win. In another match, Shyambazar piled up 401 for six against Port Trust. Aniruddha Roy scored remained not out on 113 while Anirban Chatterjee made 106.


Kumartuli Institute 266 (Somnath Mondal 92 n.o., Arjun Seth 56). Town Club 26 for no loss.

Shibpur Institute 138 (Sourashish Lahiri 4/48). Kalighat 142/3 (Mohammed Ziuaddin 57 n.o.). Kalighat won by 7 wkts.

Shambazar 401/6 (A. Roy 113 n.o., Anirban Chatterjee 106) vs Calcutta Port Trust.

Bhownipore 393/6 (Avijit Bose 119 n.o., Sandeep Mehrotra 91). Taltala Institute one for no loss.

Corporate cricket

Riding Sayantan Chakraborty’s unbeaten 59, Cognizant Technologies defeated TCS by three wickets in the Corporate Super 12 T20 challenger at Mainland Sambaran Cricket Academy ground on Saturday.


PWC 129 (Debojit Dhar 33, Divakar Jha 4/19). IBM 130/5 (Suman Mullick 40, Venugopal 31). IBM won by 5 wkts.

TCS 211/6 (Abhishek Ganguly 86, Archan Chakraborty 40; Partha Das 3/40). CTS 215/7 (Sayantan Chakraborty 59 n.o.) CTS won by 3 wkts.

EB colts pump in six

East Bengal U-15 team blanked MG Coaching Camp 6-0 in the Tata Reyerson Invitational football Tournament organised by Veteran's Football Club. In another match, Dukhiram Mazumdar Coaching Centre beat Bidhannagar Municipal Sports Academy 1-0.

Gagan upset

Gagan Verma, seeded 12th, upset fifth seed HS Kang to make the quarter finals of the Goodricke Eastern India Amateur Golf Championship at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club Saturday. Gagan clinched the issue on the 17th hole. Top seed Abhishek Jha defeated local star Sudeep Chitlangia while fourth seed Tarun Gogale beat Karan Singh.

Howrah1 win

Howrah1 beat Maniktala3-0 in a quarter final match of the Partnership Cup football tournament at the Clive House ground in Nagerbazar Saturday. In another last eight match, Laketown 2 defeated Bagbazar by the spin of a coin.

Walking race

The 12th All Bengal Senior Citizens walking race organised by Ideal Society of Youth (Uttarpara) will be held on Sunday. The two-kilometre race will start at the Red Road near Fort William Palashi Gate.


CRICKET: CAB league matches at various grounds from 10am.

GOLF: East India amateur meet at the RCGC.

POLO: Carmicheal Cup final (2pm), Kingfisher Cup (3pm). Matches at Pat Williamson ground.

Email This Page