The Telegraph
  My Yahoo!
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Strict system of policing from 2008

Bhubaneswar, Dec. 18: The Cuttack-Bhubaneswar police commissionerate system would be implementing provisions under the Orissa Urban Police Act, especially focusing on “zero tolerance” stance towards criminals from next year.

Talking to reporters today, the commissioner-designate for the twin cities, B.K. Behera, conceded that with the act in place, the system would be introduced in the two cities, next year. The commissionerate would be carved out of the police districts of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack. There would five sub-divisions under the Bhubaneswar police district and four under Cuttack. Each district would be headed by a deputy commissioner of police, a personnel in the rank of a superintendent of police, and each sub-division would be headed by an assistant commissioner of police in the rank of a deputy inspector.

Besides, there would be six deputy commissioners for offices such as headquarters, crime, traffic, intelligence and security, training and armed reserve force. Mahila and energy police stations would be directly under the supervision of deputy commissioner (crime).

The new system would start a special cell in the office of the police commissioner to tackle crimes.

Behera, an officer in the rank of an inspector-general, said he was considering installing complaint boxes at important points in the twin cities, in case victims hesitate to lodge complaints in police stations. The existing police assistance booths in the capital city will also be renovated, he added.

Powers of executive magistrates would be delegated to the designated police officers, who would deal with breaches of peace and can proclaim prohibitory orders under Sections 144 and 145 CrPC.

Fine up to Rs 1,000 or imprisonment up to 30 days would be imposed for indecent behaviour in public, committing nuisance in a street or public place, disorderly conduct at places of amusement and causing traffic.

Email This Page