The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Real students rise beyond stars

Ranchi, Oct. 9: Fractured mandate at the Ranchi University Students’ Union elections is all set to give way to a new problem — horse-trading — among the present lot of winning candidates during the university-level polls in December.

Interestingly, Independent candidates and organisations led by “real students” won many seats, as the voters believed “they are serious contenders”.

Star campaigning by NSUI-backed Dusu joint secretary Khushboo Sharma and senior ABVP leader Asha Lakra could not affect the outcome of the polls either.

Regional parties, which call the shots in state politics, were represented in the student polls, too, with Ajsu, Jharkhand Vikas Chhatra Morcha, Jharkhand Students’ Federation, Jharkhand Chhatra Sangh, Jharkhand Chhatra Morcha emerging victorious.

At Ranchi Women’s College, which witnessed maximum polls in the city (42.29 per cent), Manjari Raj Oraon, an Independent nominee, was declared winner for the president’s post. “I don’t need any party’s support, but that of my friends,” said the Part-III student, with a smile on her face.

In RU postgraduate department (taken as a whole), Ajsu-supported candidates — Sunil Kachhap (president), Srimanta Mahto (vice-president) and Nirmala Veena Munda (joint secretary) —won the polls.

At Marwari College, NSUI-backed candidates emerged winners in three posts.

Chayanika was elected president while defeating the nearest rival by over 300 votes. Nishant Kumar of NSUI was declared vice-president while Arunima Kumari, an NCC cadet, was elected secretary.

Swati Keshri of ABVP was declared joint secretary while Pranav Kumar of NSUI would be the new deputy secretary.

However, at Chhotanagpur Law College, a Ajsu stronghold, the president’s seat was won by Devraj Singh of JCVM while the vice-president’s post was bagged by Sanjeev Kumar of CLC Students’ Association, an Independent organisation.

At Maulana Azad College, that recorded less than 10 per cent polling, JCS-backed candidates bagged all five seats.

At SS Memorial College, NSUI emerged victorious in president, vice-president and deputy secretary’s post while Ajsu claimed two seats — secretary and joint secretary.

A lesser-known students’ organisation Khatal Vikas Parishad-backed candidates emerged victorious at JN College in Dhurwa.

At BN Jalan College, Sisai (Gumla) and Ghatshila College, all the five seats were bagged by tribal candidates. At colleges in Palamau region, ABVP-backed candidates won most of the seats.

Poll trend

Following the same trend in Jamshedpur, tribal students decided the fate of candidates at Jamshedpur Co-operative College, Abdul Bari Memorial College and Jamshedpur Co-operative Law College. JCM and JVCM emerged winners in these institutions.

Late in the evening, a group students of Kartik Oraon College in Gumla ransacked the house and the car of Purushottam Ram, the principal of the institution, for the latter’s alleged partisan approach. “They tried to enter my house at 8.30pm. They broke windowpanes and glasses of my car. I have informed the police,” said Ram.

The students alleged that Ram and the college administration gave undue support to the candidates owing allegiance to Jharkhand Chhatra Sangh (JCS), the organisation which won in all the five seats in the college.

Email This Page