The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Jeev stays No. 1

Kuala Lumpur: Jeev Milkha Singh remained on top of the UBS Asian Order of Merit, while Shiv Kapur and Amandeep Johl were among the top-20 on the list released after the $600,000 Maekyung Open.

Jeev, winner of the Volvo China Open last month, leads the list with winnings of $389,391 but South Koreaís Charlie Wi has narrowed the gap and is in second place after picking up a cheque of $12,638 to raise his seasonís tally to $324,325.

Shiv, who missed the cut in South Korea, has $130,407 and is in 12th, while Johl, third at the Maekyung Open, moved up ten places to from 25th with a cheque of $34,275. His total is $94,545 for the season.

One of the most significant movers was Maekyung Open winner Suk Jong-Ryul of South Korea, who came through Asian Tour Qualifying School, who picked up his first cheque of the season, $125,000, which rocketed him up to 13th place.

Also showing rapid move upwards was runner-up Bryan Saltus, who went from 76th to 20th place.

The tenacious Indian golfer that he is, Jeev fought tooth and nail to end a frustrating seven-year title drought which was blighted by injuries, but he proved the old adage that hard work and perseverance do pay off handsomely. Winning the Volvo China Open last month was a true reflection of his skill and capabilities. The 34-year-old Chandigarh golfer, who last won in 1999, held his nerve to finally claim his first European Tour title with a one-shot victory at the co-sanctioned meet.

ďI just canít explain this feeling... Itís like a dream come true. ... Iím really excited and happy the way it worked out. The seven-year-itch is over and the monkey is off my back,Ē he said after the victory.

TOP 20

1. Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind) $389,391; 2. Charlie Wi (Kor) $324,325; 3. Andrew Buckle (Aus) $280,212; 4. Simon Dyson (Eng) $269,265; 5. Thongchai Jaidee (Tha) $217,222; 6. Prayad Marksaeng (Tha) $177,777; 7. Mardan Mamat (Sin) $174,382; 8. Tadahiro Takayama (Jpn) $173,460; 9. Ter-Chang Wang (Tpe) $141,788; 10. Jarrod Lyle (Aus) $136,270; 11. Thaworn Wirachant (Tha) $131,299; 12. Shiv Kapur (Ind) $130,407; 13. Suk Jong-Ryul (Kor) $125,000; 14. Scott Strange (Aus) $107,154; 15. Amandeep Johl (Ind) $94,545; 16. Mahal Pearce (Nzl) $91,625; 17. Terry Pilkadaris (Aus) $90,629; 18. Kiyoshi Miyazato (Jpn) $86,730; 19. Lee Sung (Kor) $85,525; 20. Bryan Saltus (US) $83,750.

Email This Page