The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Young Bengal score 289

Young Bengal were all out for 289 against Ballygunge United in a CAB first division relegation play-off match on Saturday. Vishal Tulsiyan top-scored with 64 and Arnab Ghosh scalped five wickets for Ballygunge United.


Young Bengal 289 (Vishal Tulsiyan 64; Arnab Ghosh 5/95) vs Ballygunge United.

Gyms for districts

CAB will provide well-equipped gymnasiums to all the 19 affiliated districts to help the players prepare during the off-season. This was decided at a district committee meeting on Saturday.

CAB president Jagmohan Dalmiyawas present at the meeting along with representatives of the districts.

Four picked from Bengal

Four from Bengal ' Subhankar Mallick, Anup Chakraborty, Dinesh Sharma and Suvro Jyoti Sur ' have been selected in the Indian deaf and dumb cricket squad to tour Pakistan from March 19 to April 6.


V. Vijayakumar, Vishal Barara, Dheeraj Prasad, Kapil Kumar Gupta, Pawan Sharma, Vineet Kumar (wicketkeeper), Sumit Jain, Anup Chakraborty, Subhankar Mallick, Suvro Jyoti Sur, Rakesh Ray, Akash Singh, Dinesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Rajesh Nair, Sagawekar, Abhishek Hayaran, R.Rakshal, T. Yadagiri, Syed Riaza, Harsh Kumar.

University rowing

West Bengal Universities of Technology (WBUT) beat Kumaun in the men's section of the All India University Rowing meet at the Lake Club on Saturday. In the women's category, Jadavpur lost to Punjab while Calcutta defeated Kerala.

CPT win

Calcutta Port Trust (CPT) edged out Rakhi Sangha 77-76 in a first division state basketball league match on Saturday.


CRICKET: CAB first division relegation play-off match from 9.30 am. n The Telegraph Merchants' Cup meet at the CC&FC.

ROWING: All India University meet at the Calcutta Lake Club.

Email This Page