The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

East Bengal in final

East Bengal on Tuesday moved into the final of the CAB senior division knockout final with an eight-wicket victory over Town. Town managed a paltry 133 in their essay, Ritam Kundu picking up four wickets for 17. Then Amitava Chakraborty's unbeaten 55 and Subhomoy Das' 43 took East Bengal through.

BRIEF SCORES ' Town 133 in 43.4 overs (M Biswas 22, S Dey 22, D Mazumdar 22; R Kundu 4/17). East Bengal 134/2 in 27.4 ovs (A Chakraborty 55 n.o., S Das 43). East Bengal won by 8 wkts.

U-17 meet

Mainland Sambaran CA (MSCA) and Ashok Malhotra CA (AMCA) will meet in the final of an invitational U-17 cricket meet. In the semi-finals, MSCA beat Bulan CA by five wickets, while AMCA beat Salt Lake SCC by three wickets.


Bulan CA 121 (A Majumdar 39). MSCA 124/5 (B Rahaman 44). MSCA won by 5 wkts.

Salt Lake 158/8 (R Balmiki 46, Moin Khan 40 n.o.). AMCA 160/7 (B Dutta 79 n.o.). AMCA won by 3 wkts.

TTIS soccer

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan routed H.L. Patranavis 8-0 in a Linc-TTIS five-a-side inter-school meet match at the CC&FC on Tuesday.

OTHER RESULTS ' North Point bt Julien Day (Ganganagar) 2-1; South Point drew Ballygunge Govt 1-1; Future Hope bt St Xavier's 1-0; Vivekananda Mission bt Calcutta Public 3-0; Calcutta Boys bt Douglas Memorial 3-2; La Martiniere bt Army School (Ballygunge) 3-0; Baranagore Ramkrishna Mission drew St James' 1-1; St Joseph's & Mary bt Union Chapel 4-0; National Gems bt St Xavier's (Panihati) 3-1; Armenian College bt Ling Liang 6-0; Birla HS bt St Augustine's Day 3-1; Bishnupur Sir Romesh bt The Future Foundation 6-1; Aditya Academy drew Saifee Hall 0-0; Julien Day (Elgin Road) drew Cathedral Mission 1-1.

Schools' meet

Sukantanagar Bidyaniketan beat Bishnupur Sir Ramesh Institution 7-0 in their Bankim Cup inter-school soccer meet. In another match Chhoygharia Rakhaldas (Bangaon) beat Rishra Anjuman High School 7-5 after the match ended 2-2 in regulation time. Fatepur High School beat Adabi Society High Madrasah 3-0.


In the TVS Futsal Championships, Raigunj Sastri Sangha beat Raigunj Sports Club 4-3 in West Dinajpur, according to information reaching here.


CRICKET: Final of the u-17 invitational meet at Bangabasi ground from 9 am.

FOOTBALL: AFC Cup ' East Bengal vs Al Faisaly (Salt Lake Stadium), 3.15 pm. Linc-TTIS five-a-side meet: Hartley's vs Mansur Habibullah Memorial, Julien Day (Kalyani) vs GD Birla, Sri Aurobindo vs Salt Lake School (all 3.30 pm); St Paul's Mission vs St Mary's Orphanage & Day, Army School (Barrackpur) vs Gospel Home, St Thomas (Dasnagar) vs Frank Anthony (all 4 pm); Central Modern (Baranagore) vs St Thomas Church School, M.C. Kejriwal vs St Thomas (Kidderpore), B.D. Memorial vs Gyan Bharati (all 4.30 pm); H.L. Patranavis vs North Point, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan vs South Point, Julien Day (Ganganagar) vs Ballygunge Govt (all 5 pm); St Xavier's vs Calcutta Public, Future Hope vs Douglas Memorial, Vivekananda Mission vs Calcutta Boys (all 5.30 pm). Matches at CC&FC. Prodyut Dutta Memorial nursery knockout meet ' Belghoria SC vs Milan Samity, 2.30 pm; Bishnupur FCC vs Bagha Shome Inst, 4 pm (both matches at Greer).

Email This Page