The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Pak pin hopes on Danish Kaneria
- Woolmer asks team to ignore pressure and hype
Shahid Afridi during a practice session in Dharamshala on Wednesday

Dharamshala: Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq is confident his young team will silence critics during their first Test series in India for six years starting next week. Pakistan face a huge challenge as they look to avenge last year's home series defeat to India.

Inzamam said: 'There is a lack of experience but you can't say they are weak going by the way they have been performing. Fast bowlers do get injured,' he told reporters. 'We've basically had the same team in the last two years.'

Coach Bob Woolmer said although the pace attack was raw, with new ball bowler Mohammed Sami having claimed just 48 scalps in 18 Tests, they would be backed well by the spin bowlers, especially leg-spinner Danish Kaneria.

'In Danish, we have arguably, very soon to be, one of the best spin bowlers in world cricket,' he said.

The Karachi bowler has been steadily growing in stature and is the most successful bowler in the side with 102 wickets in 23 Tests averaging 29.47.

'He has a terrific googly as well,' said Woolmer, who hoped tall off-spinner Arshad Khan would also make an impact on spin-friendly Indian pitches on his Pakistan comeback after more than four years.

Pakistan, who play three Tests and six one-dayers, begin their tour with a three-day match against the Board President's XI starting on Thursday at this hilly venue. Woolmer, in fact, has told his team to ignore the pressure and hype surrounding the series.

'Pressure is people in the tsunami trying to find food, pressure is people in Iraq and there is all different kinds of pressures in life,' Woolmer told reporters on Wednesday. 'Cricket is a game,' he said. 'That type of pressure can be alleviated if you can play and enjoy.'


Pakistan (from): Inzamam-ul Haq (captain), Younis Khan (vice-captain), Taufeeq Umar, Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Asim Kamal, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Danish Kaneria, Mohammed Sami, Rana Naved-ul Hasan, Arshad Khan and Mohammed Khalil.

Board President's XI (from): Mohammed Kaif (captain), Dheeraj Jadhav, Satyajit Parab, Shikhar Dhawan, Y. Venugopal Rao, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel, Ramesh Powar, Gagandeep Singh, Shib Shankar Paul, Rudra Pratap Singh, R. Ramkumar, Ranadeb Bose and Neeraj Patel.

Email This Page