The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bengal boys regain crown

Calcutta: Bengal regained the under-19 national football crown after seven years, beating Karnataka 2-0 in the final in Giridi on Thursday.

Suraj Mondal and Lal Kamal Bhowmick scored for Bengal, who had last won the trophy in 1996, when the tournament was held in Midnapore.

Incidentally, Suraj emerged the highest scorer of the tournament, netting ten goals, including a couple of hattricks, while Surajit Basu scored nine overall. Bengal’s dominance in the tournament could also be gauged from the fact that they scored 27 goals in all and conceded none.

Bengal’s joint coach Tarun Dey (Raghu Nandy being the other) informed from Giridi that the players played “exceptional” football and were deserved winners.

Attributing the success to teamwork, Dey said: “Keeping Suraj and Surajit’s names in mind, everybody played to the team’s requirements, and it paid off in the end”.

Dey also felt that the young squad had the potentials to make it big in the senior level soon. “Most of them should play for the big clubs in a year or two,” he pointed out.

Email This Page