The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Shivika, Farid clinch titles

Shivika Burman defeated Rohini Das 6-0, 7-5 to clinch the girls’ under-18 title in the hardcourt tennis meet at Saturday Club on Monday. The boys’ under-18 title went to Farid Alam who overcame D. Biswakarma 6-1, 6-1 in the final.

OTHER RESULTS: Boys — U-14 (2nd round): Ranjan Prosad bt Surya Gulati 8-0; Soumit De bt R. Mainak Dey 8-0; Akhil Sharma bt Rishav Tandon 8-3; B. Deb bt Anoorag Biswas 6-4, 0-6, 6-1. Girls — U-14 (quarter finals): A. Tyagi bt Aleena Majumder 6-0, 6-0; Mohana Sarkar bt Moumita Bhattacharya 6-2, 7-6.

Bankim Cup

Kodalia PB High School beat Krishna Chandrapur High School 3-0 in the Bankim Cup inter-school football meet at Rabindra Sarobar Stadium. Sheikh Raja, Palash Das and Jayanta Dutta were the scorers. Elsewhere, Burikhali Kshetra Mohan Institution blanked Ananda Nagar 5-0. Biswajit Das scored a brace while Amit Haldar, Samir Pal and Tanmoy Bose struck one each. Bantra MSPC edged past Bally Zora Aswathatala Vidyalaya 3-1.

State league

Darjeeling rode goals from Asish Subba (2) and Biswa Gurung to beat Malda 3-0 in the Konark Sheet state league. Jalpaiguri overcame Dakshin Dinajpur by a Jayanta Roy goal while North 24 Parganas and Nadia were locked goalless.

Match drawn

Jayanta Roy missed a hundred as YMCA College managed to force a draw against Customs in the CAB senior division league tie.

BRIEF SCORES: Customs 314/9 (Prasenjit Ganguly 105, Shankar Pal 67). YMCA College 228/7 (Jayanta Roy 95). Match drawn.

Junior meet

Sinthee Roy Para CCC and Paikpara Sporting won their matches in the all-Bengal junior meet organised by North Calcutta Cricket Academy.


n Sinthee Roy Para CCC 163/6 (Souvik Saha 64 n.o., Avijit Biswas 38). Kanchrapara Ramkrishna Sporting Club 120/9 (Bratindranath 33, Avi Naskar 3/24). Sinthee Roy Para CCC won by 43 runs.

n Paikpara Sporting 164/9 (Sourav Kundu 38, Sidhartha Saha 4/22). Baguihati CCC 160 (Sourav Kundu 3/16). Paikpara won by 4 runs.

Rapid chess

IM Shanker Roy, Laltu Chatterjee, Suvrajit Saha will be among the top players in action at the sixth all-Bengal rapid chess tournament, organised by Modern Chess Academy, in Rishra from Saturday. The two-day meet will have nine rounds as per FIDE Swiss league rules.

TT teams

Five men and as many women will represent Bengal in the senior national table tennis championships in Gurgaon from December 13-19. Sadhan Dutta will accompany the teams as coach.

TEAMS — Men: Amit Mukherjee, Souvik Basu Roy, Santanu Majumder, Sourav Sengupta, Niloy Basak. Women: Shinjini Mitra, Runa Roy, Samapika Pal, Sayantika Kundu, Ria Dasgupta.


Priyanka Robertson atop Legal Steps won the dressage confined event of the national equestrian meet at RCTC polo ground. V. Todi (Merona) came second.

OTHER WINNERS: Dressage Open: S. Singh (Tyson); Show jumping top score juniors: V. Modi (Merona); Show jumping normal sub-juniors: Biren Dey (Morocco); Show jumping novice fault and out: Deepak Kumawat (Shiva); Show jumping normal juniors: Dalip Kumar (Moon Flower).


CRICKET: Ranji Trophy: Bengal vs Hyderabad (Eden Gardens, 9 am).

TENNIS: Hardcourt meet at Saturday Club.

Email This Page