The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
India Inc stars to pick the best in governance

New Delhi, Nov. 23: A panel comprising top business leaders and public figures will pick the best-governed companies in India, both in the private and public sectors. They will also honour the lifetime achievement of a corporate citizen.

The Institute of Company Secretaries of India (ICSI), which will be giving away these awards for the third time this year on December 15, has drawn up a jury that includes Anil Ambani, CMD, BSES Ltd; Nandan M. Nilakeni, CEO Infosys Technologies; Deepak Parekh, HDFC chairman; Anji Reddy, chairman, Dr Reddy’s Laboratories Ltd; Tejendra Khanna, chairman, Ranbaxy Laboratories Ltd; Naina Lal Kidwai, vice-CMD HSBC Securities & Capital Market; Kalpana Morparia, executive director, ICICI Bank Ltd; B. D. Narang, CMD, Oriental Bank of Commerce and S. S. Mukherji, managing director of EIH.

Jury members also include G. . Bajpai, chairman, Sebi; Naresh Chandra, former cabinet secretary; Vinod Dhall, member (administration) Competition Commission of India; M. M. K. Sardana, secretary, department of company affairs (DCA); P. L. Sanjeeva Reddy, director, Indian Institute of Public Administration; Ravi Narain, CEO, National Stock Exchange of India and Pawan Kumar Vijay, president ICSI. The jury is chaired by M. . Venkatachelliah, former Chief Justice of India.

The efficacy of awards for the cause of corporate governance may be debatable but these awards are flaunted by the companies. The ICSI also gives corporate account awards for ‘best account practices’. The administrative ministry for both these apex professional bodies is the DCA.

Email This Page