The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Nisha outwits Vijayalakshmi

Kozhikode: Top seed Koneru Humpy split a point for the first time in the tournament on Sunday but continued to be sole leader with 11.5 points in the national women’ A championship.

Humpy, who won a record 11 consecutive rounds, drew her 12th-round game with Dronavalli Harika. WGM S. Vijayalakshmi, the second seed, was stunned by the latest entrant to the WGM club, Nisha Mohota, who took advantage of the former’s blunder in the 21st move. Vijaylakshmi, 1.5 points adrift of the leader, resigned after 66 moves.

Mohota remained in third position with 8.5 points, followed by Harika, S. Meenakshi and Eesha Karvade (7.5 each).

Defending champion Aarthie Ramaswamy (6) suffered her fourth successive defeat when she went down to Bengal’s Saheli Nath. Meenakshi continued her fine show, upstaging experienced IWM Anupama Gokhale, while Karvade settled for a draw against IWM Y. Prathiba.

Tania Sachdev split the point with tournament sensation Kruttika Nadig. Humpy’s sister, Koneru Chandrahawsa, drew with Bhagyashree Thipsay.

Email This Page