The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Agomoni, Joyeeta in sub-junior final

On a no-upset day at the 69th state and inter-district table tennis championships, Agomoni Mitra of South Calcutta District and Joyeeta Pushilal of East Calcutta, moved into the final of the sub-junior girls’ category. While Agomoni beat Arpita Banerjee of Hooghly 4-2, Joyeeta beat Shramana Dutta of East 4-0. The men’s and women’s quarter finalists were identified. Among women they are Samapika Paul (Howrah), Agomoni, Soumi Mondal (South), Kanchan Basak (Punjab), Kajol Das (Howrah), Runda Roy (East), Ria Dasgupta (Hooghly) and Sinjeeni Mitra (South). The men’s quarter finalists are Arup Basak, Nilay Basak (both East), Souvik Basu Roy (Central), Chiranjib Chowdhury (Hooghly), Amit Mukherjee (Central), Nupur Santra (South), Soumik Dey Sarkar and Santanu Mazumdar (both Central).

Power Cricket on November 28

The Sunil Gavaskar-promoted Champs Foundation is set to get a shot in its moral arm from the McDowell’s No. 1 Power Cricket meet at the CC&FC on November 28.

It is a double-wicket meet, involving over a dozen celebrities and an equal number of prominent names from the corporate world, playing to raise funds for the Foundation which provides monetary and other assistance to India internationals in all disciplines who have fallen on bad times.

Star players like Vinod Kambli, Leander Paes, Rohan Gavaskar, Salil Ankola, Sandeep Patil, Arun Lal, Pranab Roy and Robin Singh will take part in the day-night event.

From the corporate side, scheduled to take part are teams from ITC, Tata Tea, Tisco, Eveready, Bata, Selvel, Blue Star and Patton.

At a press meeting on Thursday, CC&FC president Aurobindo Roy started the process, so to say, by announcing a donation of Rs 1 lakh to the cause. Also present on the occasion was hockey legend Gurbux Singh, actress Raima Sen and D. Banerjee, COO (East) McDowell & Co.

The Champs Foundation has been providing monthly stipends to several sportspersons for the last four years, among them being Premjit Lall (tennis), Gopal Bhengra (hockey), Sami Khatow (boxing), Krishna D. Gaikwad (boxing), Salim Durani (cricket), A. Palaniswamy (volleyball), among others.

BHA transfers

In the BHA inter-club transfers Thursday 52 players switched clubs. Port Trust picked up three players, Sporting Union one and Mohammedan Sporting lost one. HTC picked up 12 and Khalsa Blues two.


TABLE TENNIS: State & inter-district meet — sub-junior girls’ final and other semi-finals and Khudiram Anushilan Kendra.

Email This Page