The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Anju named in squad but will skip Manila

New Delhi: The Amateur Athletic Federation of India (AAFI) named a 45-member Indian contingent for the 15th Asian Track & Field championships in Manila from Saturday through Tuesday.

World Championships long jump bronze-medallist and Busan Asian Games gold-medallist Anju Bobby George have been named, but wonít make the trip as she is exhausted after a hectic schedule in Europe, which ended with a fifth-place finish at the world athletics final in Monaco on Saturday.

Busan winners K.M. Beenamol and Saraswati Saha are not in the squad as they are recovering from injuries.

Another Asian Games winner Soma Biswas, though, figures in the list, along with Amit Saha, Manisha Dey, Pinki Pramanik and Mukti Saha.


MEN: Anil Kumar, Sanjoy Ghosh, Manoj Lal, Satbir Singh, K.M. Binu, P.S. Primesh, Gulab Chand, Kuldeep Kumar, Aman Saini, Naunidh Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Arun DíSouza, Wayne Peppin, Maha Singh, Shakti Singh, Jaiveer Singh, Kulwinder Singh, Piyush Kumar, Sandeep Sarkaria, Amit Saha, M. Mudassir, Bhupendra Singh, P. Shankar, P.J. Vinod, Anil Rohil.

WOMEN: Vinita Tripathi, S. Geetha, Sagardeep Kaur, Madhuri Saxena, Sunita, L. Aruna Devi, Manisha Dey, Harwant Kaur, Neelam J. Singh, Hardeep Kaur, Ritu Rani, G.G. Promila, Soma Biswas, Anju Bobby George, Kalpana Reddy, Manjeet Kaur, Pinki Parmanik, Mukti Saha and Bobby Aloysius.

Coaches: Harbans Singh, Jaswant Singh, Robert Bobby George, Sanjay Garnaik, P.R. Purushottaman, Parminder Singh, N. Ramesh and Nishad N.V.

Email This Page