The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Rakshit upsets seventh seed

Seventh seed Chandril Sood of Uttar Pradesh was upset 3-6, 2-6 by wild-carder city boy Arcopravo Rakshit in the boys’ under-14 quarter finals of the Nutrine Naturo-AITA sub-junior tennis championships at the Bengal Tennis Association complex on Friday.

The only seed in fray now is top seed Tariq Jacob (TN), who beat eighth seed Dharamveer Biswakarma (Ben) 6-2, 6-2.

OTHER RESULTS — Boys’ U-14: Parnai Das (Assam) bt Vibhav M. Iyengar (Kar) 6-4, 6-4; Varun Gunaseelan (Kar) bt Akshay Ashok (Ker) 5-7, 6-4, 7-5. Boys’ U-12: Md. Imran (Beng) bt Bibaswan Deb (Ben) 6-3, 6-0.

Girls’ U-14: Shivika Burman (Ben) bt Danielle Jones (Ben) 5-7, 6-2, 6-1. Shahin Ansari (TN) bt V. Archana (AP) 7-6 (7-5), 6-3. Girls’ U-12: Danielle Jones (Ben) bt V. Archana (AP) 6-2, 6-2.

Hardcourt meet

Over 350 players, including Vinod Kumar, Manoj Kumar Sewa, Dhrub Kumar, Nirvick Mohinta and Ragini Vimal and Priyanka Parekh, will be seen in action at the Rs 57,000 prize money Aarbur Calcutta hard court tennis championships at the Calcutta South Club from Saturday to September 28.

It was informed at a press conference on Friday that 14 events will be gone through in these championships where a contingent from Orissa is also expected to take part.

CCD meet

Kajal Das and Samapika Paul, both from Howrah, will meet in the women’s singles final of the 21st CCD table tennis meet at Don Bosco Park Circus on Sunday. In the semi-finals on Friday, Kajal beat Mousumi Karar of Howrah 4-0, while Samapika beat Shreya Ghosh of South Calcutta 4-3.

Centenary tie

Friends Union Club of Konnagar, Hooghly, stepping into their centenary year, will organise a football match on Sunday between Veterans’ Club, Calcutta and a combined team of ex-footballers of the Hooghly district.


TENNIS: AITA sub-jr meet at the BTA complex — Finals from 7.30am. l Calcutta hard court meet — junior qualifiers and men’s handicap events at Calcutta South Club.

FOOTBALL: CFL Super Div. — Mohammedan Sporting vs Mohun Bagan (Salt Lake Stadium ), Tollygunge Agragami vs Ever-Ready (Mohammedan Sporting), East Bengal vs Mohammedan AC (East Bengal); Relegation leg: Wari AC vs WB Police (Bagan), E. Rly vs Railway FC (Howrah), Bhratri Sangha vs Port Trust (R. Sarovar). Matches from 3pm.

TABLE TENNIS: 21st CCD meet at Don Bosco Park Circus — from 2.30pm.

Email This Page