The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bangladesh high on morale

Multan: The first one-day International between Pakistan and Bangladesh on Tuesday risks being overshadowed by a five-match ban on Pakistan captain Rashid Latif.

He was excluded by Match Referee Mike Procter after Bangladesh complained that wicketkeeper Latif had claimed a catch which he had not cleanly taken during Pakistan’s one-wicket third Test win on Saturday.

Pakistan will also be out to prove that they are a far better side than the one which squeezed such a narrow victory over Bangladesh to secure the series 3-0.

As a result of Latif’s ban, the Pakistan board named Inzamam-ul Haq to lead the side in the five ODIs.

Bangladesh, under skipper Khaled Mahmud and coach Dav Whatmore, have steadily improved and are keen to carry renewed confidence forward to the one-day matches.

“We are going into the one-day series with a positive mindset and believe that we can win a match. The old habit of going into a one-dayer with a defeatist and amateurish attitude has gone after the Tests,” Mahmud said.

Certainly a lot has changed since the start of the Test series last month in Karachi which Pakistan were expected to win comfortably against a side that had not won any of their previous 21 Tests and lost 20 of them.

Inzamam said his team would try to win the one-day series for sidelined Latif.

“After winning the Tests 3-0 we want to win the one-day series 5-0 and dedicate it to Rashid,” he said. “Rashid is our permanent captain and we feel bad for him. We will win the series for him. Obviously I can’t comment on the referee’s decision,” he said.

Bangladesh’s last win in an ODI was over Pakistan at Northampton, a victory that became the subject of a match-fixing inquiry in Pakistan and at the International Cricket Council .

Since than, Bangladesh have played 39 matches, losing 37 including four to Pakistan. Two have been affected by weather.

Bangladesh have released Javed Omar, a batting success in the Tests, pacer Manjural Islam and Anwar Hossain and replaced them with youngsters Tushar Imran, allrounder Habibul Hossain and Mushfiqur Rahman.

Pakistan have introduced another uncapped player, fast bowler Junaid Zia, into their side and recalled allrounders Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq and opener Imran Nazir.


Pakistan (from): Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Abdul Razzak, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Junaid Zia, Younis Khan, Danish Kaneria and Salman Butt.

Bangladesh (from): Khaled Mahmud (captain), Hannan Sarkar, Tushar Imran, Habibul Bashar, Mohammad Ashraful, Rajin Saleh, Habibul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahman, Alok Kapali, Khaled Mashud, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tapash Baisya, Sanwar Hossain and Mohammad Rafique.

Email This Page