The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
100m title for Sanjay Ghosh
- Aruna Devi wins Bengalís lone gold of day

Jamshedpur: It was Madhya Pradeshís gain at Bengalís expense. Had sprinter Sanjay Ghosh been allowed to represent his home state Bengal, it would have been a different story.

Ghosh and Poonam Tomar won the menís and womenís 100m titles on the opening day of the 43rd national inter-state athletics championships which got underway at the JRD Tata Sports Complex on Friday.

Ghosh and Tomar of Delhi clocked 10.50 seconds and 12.00. But Bengal had something to cheer about as Amit Saha, who clocked 10.54, won the silver.

The womenís silver went to Vinita Tripathy of Uttar Pradesh, who clocked 12.10.

Ghosh later told The Telegraph that he had applied to turn out for his home state but his request was turned down by Madhya Pradesh (his adopted state). ďI would have certainly loved to win the medal for Bengal but fate had something else in store,Ē Ghosh added. He is employed as a junior commissioned officer in Jabalpur.

V.S. Surekha of Tamil Nadu set a meet record in womenís pole vault by crossing a height of 3.20m to claim the gold. She crossed her own mark of 3.18 m set in Bangalore in 2000.

Deepa Choudhary of Delhi (3.00m) and Sahil Tiwary of Uttar Pradesh (3.00) claimed the silver and bronze respectively.

The menís pole vault gold was won by Haryanaís Parveen Kumar with a leap of 4.90 m. His statemate, Shamsher Singh, finished with silver at 4.80 while Gajanan Upadhyay settled for bronze, also at 4.80.

Busan Asian Games gold medallist Bahadur Singh, who recently overcame an ankle injury, lost to arch-rival Haryanaís Shakti Singh in the menís shot put. Bahadur of Punjab hurdled the iron ball to a distance of 18.69m against Shaktiís 18.70. Jasveer Singh of Rajasthan claimed the bronze at 18.29.

The menís and womenís 1500m titles were won by Ghulab Chand of Andhra Pradesh at 3:48.89 and Madhuri A. of Punjab (4:24.81).

Om Veer Singh of Rajasthan leaped 2.12m to win the menís high jump gold, edging out Benetics Tarly of Tamil Nadu (2.09). The bronze went to Hari Shankar Roy of West Bengal at 2.09m.

Jharkhand had something to smile about as Ruta Patkar, the latest Tata Steel recruit, claimed the long jump bronze with a leap of 6.04 m.

The gold and silver went to Pramilla Aiyappa of Karnataka (6.23 m) and Jetty Joseph of Kerela (6.16).

Aman Saini of Himachal Pradesh and L. Aruna Devi of Bengal claimed the 10,000m gold in the menís and womenís categories. While the former clocked 31:35.50, the latter did it in 36:04.54.

Punjabís Hardeep Kaur clinched the womenís hammer throw gold clearing a distance of 58.29m.

The silver went to Ritu Kumari of Delhi at 57.11 while the bronze was claimed by Alka Pandey of Uttar Pradesh at 51.28.

Vara Prasad Reddy of Andhra Pradesh and S. Roslin Arockia Mary of Tamil Nadu grabbed the menís and womenís 400m hurdles respectively. While the former clocked 52.31, the latter did it in 1:00.29.

Email This Page