The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Sangma closer to title
- Calcutta boy Debaditya upsets third seed Tejdeep Adabwala
Akshat Khamparia, who beat Calcutta's Debayan Majumdar, ponders over a move at Gorky Sadan on Wednesday

Calcutta: Top seed Rahul Sangma of Bihar inched closer to winning The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship when he beat C.R.G. Krishna of Andhra Pradesh in the 10th and penultimate round at Alekhine Chess Club, Gorky Sadan on Wednesday.

Rahul, sitting pretty with 9.5 points, now needs only a draw in the final round against defending champion Joydeep Dutta to clinch the title.

Playing with the White pieces, Sangma was, initially, in dire straits against Krishna as he had a passive position from the opening, but he turned the tables in the endgame where his outside passed pawn on the queenside decided the fate of the game.

The other overnight joint leader, Anurag Jaiswal of Children Seminary, slipped to second as was content with a draw against defending champion Joydeep Dutta of Kumar Ashutosh Institution in just 16 moves.

Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy took her tally to 8 points by getting the better of Shamima Akter Liza of Bangladesh in the Leningrad variation of the Dutch defence. Gomes won a pawn on the kingside by advancing her kingside pawns. Liza made things easy for Gomes by losing her queen by a knight fork.

Second seed Akshat Khamparia of Madhya Pradesh increased his chances of finishing near the top by outwitting Debayan Majumdar of St James in a Nimzo Indian defence.

Third seed Tejdeep Adabwala of Hyderabad was upset by Debaditya Sinha Biswas of Salt Lake Point School in 34 moves in an English opening. Indradeep Giri of Uttarpara Govt. HS upset seventh seed Sourav Bose of Julien Day School in 30 moves in a Philidor defence. Don Bosco lad Souparno Ghosh and Soumya Thakurta of St James decided to play safe and drew in 22 moves.


Rahul Sangma (9.5) bt C.R.G. Krishna (7.5); Anurag Jaiswal (9) drew with Joydeep Dutta (8); Akshat Khamparia (8) bt Debayan Majumdar (7); Indradeep Giri (8) bt Sourav Bose (7); Shamima Akter Liza (7) lost to Mary Ann Gomes (8); Souparno Ghosh (7.5) drew with Soumya Thakurta (7.5); Tejdeep Adabwala (6.5) lost to Debaditya S Biswas (7.5); Menhazul Hoda (6.5)lost to Aniket R Pawashe (7.5); Rajib Dhar (7) drew with Sandipan Chatterjee(7); Minhazuddin A. Sagar (7.5) bt Saurav Chakraborti (6.5); Saurav Anand (7) drew with Trailokya Nanda (7); Souvik Chakraborty (7.5) bt Sourav Mahapatra (6.5); Suman Basu (7) bt Ramkrishna Perumalla (6.5); Swayams Mishra (7) bt Bitan Banerjee (6); Sriya Bhattacharjee (6) lost to Kh. Sanjoy Singh (7).

Best game award

Starting this year, The Telegraph has instituted a Best Game trophy in memory of Parimal Mukherjee, who served as treasurer of Alekhine Chess Club. Players who would like to apply should submit their game by Thursday. The best game will be selected by a panel consisting of GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly and IM Neelotpal Das.

Email This Page