The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Mary Ann loses game and lead

Calcutta: The title race at The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship was thrown wide open as overnight leader Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy handed the point on a platter to top seed Rahul Sangma in the seventh round at Gorky Sadan on Sunday.

Three players — Rahul, C.R.G. Krishna and Anurag Jaiswal — were jointly leading the table on 6.5 points apiece with four rounds remaining.

Playing with black pieces against Rahul, from Chhapra, Mary Ann obtained an excellent position and was in total command but squandered her chances under time pressure and lost.

Krishna, from Andhra Pradesh, obtained two connected passed pawns on the queenside against defending champion Joydeep Dutta of Kumar Ashutosh Institution in the endgame, forcing the latter to resign.

Bangladesh’s Minahazuddin Ahmed Sagar mishandled the rook and pawn ending against Anurag, of Children Seminary, and lost a drawn endgame.

Seeded 51st, ten-year-old Bitan Banerjee of Baruipur HS, who has been impressive so far, caused yet another upset when he outplayed Kiran Monisha Mohanty of Bhubaneswar in 31 moves in a Sicilian Defence.

Soumya Thakurta of St James prevailed over Sandipan Chatterjee of Sree Jain Vidyalaya for Boys. St James’ School leads the race for the best school trophy with 21.5 points while Don Bosco (Park Circus) and Vivekananda Mission School are in the joint second spot, with 18.5 points. Incidentally, St James has been the best school over the last two years.


Rahul Sangma (6.5) bt Mary Ann Gomes (6); C.R.G. Krishna (6.5) bt Joydeep Dutta (5); Minhazuddin Sagar (5.5) lost to Anurag Jaiswal (6.5); Sourav Mahapatra (5.5) drew Rajib Dhar (5.5); Soumya Thakurta (6) bt Sandipan Chatterjee (5); Indradeep Giri (6) bt Payel Guha (5); Angam G Singh (6) bt Debaditta Biswas (5); Suman Basu (6) bt L. Romen Singh (5); Ramkrishna Perumalla (5.5) drew Akshat Khamparia (5); Tejdeep Adabala (5.5) bt Sumit Shaw (4.5); Aniket R. Pawashe (5.5) bt Swayams Mishra (4.5); Sourav Bose (5) drew Khitendra P. Dalai (5); Debayan Majumdar (5) drew V. Sandheep (5); Shamima Akter Liza (5.5) bt Suddhasattwa Das (4.5); Shakespeare L (5) drew Souparno Ghosh (5).

Email This Page