The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Sangma in four-way lead

Calcutta: After the fifth day’s action at The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship, the lead narrowed down to four players — Rahul Sangma, Mary Ann Gomes, Soumya Thakurta and Anurag Jaiswal —who have 5 points each.

Action in the fifth round saw a number of upsets once again. Souparno Ghosh seeded 19th of Don Bosco was impressive once again as he held the 6th seed, Rajib Dhar of Assam in 35 moves in a French defence. He had held the 2nd seed, Akshat Khamparia of Madhya Pradesh on Thursday.

In yet another upset, 11-year-old Debanjan Das of Jadavpur Vidyapith, ranked 53rd, overcame Fide-rated Souvik Chakraborty of Narmada HS in an interesting endgame where both sides had a rook and two pawns.

Payel Guha, ranked 57, of Holy Child Girls’ School made short work of 24th seed Fide-rated Ashish Kumar of Jamshedpur in just 27 moves.

Defending champion Joydeep Dutta of Kumar Ashutosh Institution received a jolt as he was held by Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar of Bangladesh in 23 moves in a centre-counter gambit.

National sub-junior girls’ champion Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy had little difficulty with the black pieces to dispose off Indradeep Giri of Uttarpara Government High School in the Najdorf variation of the Sicilian defence.

Third seed, Tejdeep Adabwala of Hyderabad got the better of Bhubaneswar leg champion Swayams Mishra, after a prolonged struggle lasting 50 moves.


Rahul Sangma (5) bt Kiran Monisha Mohanty (4); Minhazuddin A Sagar (4.5) drew with Joydeep Dutta (4.5); Indradeep Giri (4) lost to Marry Ann Gomes (5); Soumya Thakurta (5) bt Debaditta S. Biswas (4); Diptanu Das (4) lost to Anurag Jaiswal (5); Saurav Chakraborti (3.5) lost to Akshat Khamparia (4.5); Tejdeep Adabwala (4.5) bt Swayams Mishra (3.5); Souparno Ghosh (4) drew with Rajib Dhar (4); Sharmin S. Shirin (3.5) lost to C.R.G. Krishna (4.5); Shamima Akter Liza (4.5) bt Menhazul Hoda (3.5); Sourav Bose (3.5) drew with Suddhasattwa Das (3.5); Debayan Majumdar(4) bt Sriya Bhattacharya (3); Trailokya Nanda(4) bt Neeraj Saripalli (3); Debanjan Das (4) bt Souvik Chakraborty (3); Suman Basu (4) bt Satyajit Kundu (3).

Email This Page