The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Tolly earn 1-0 victory

Calcutta: It was billed as a match to watch; a match that could have been ‘fixed’, according to ‘rumours’ which ‘forced’ IFA secretary Subrata Dutta to send a video photographer to ‘protect the integrity of the clubs’. It was a CFL Super Division match that Tollygunge ‘won’ 1-0, via a Sandip Das free-kick goal.

Tollygunge, at this point, seem somewhat cosy, nearly safe in the Super Six range, with 15 points from 10 matches, even if they lose their last match versus Mohammedan Sporting. What happened to Ever-Ready' At 14 points from 10 matches, and with bottom-placed Wari AC to meet they too have a chance. But then so do Railway FC, who have played nine matches for 12 points and have East Bengal and West Bengal Police to play.

What happened at the ground was sometimes pure attacking football by Ever-Ready, though often as difficult to explain as any match on the Maidan. It started with a shot from Ever-Ready’s Earnest Jeremiah in the 13th minute that took the far post before moving out. It developed with the rather inordinate square passes into rival territories and it also added spice in more Jeremiah misses.

The Tollygunge attacks rarely materialised. They moved on the counter-attacks. In the 37th minute one such resulted in a direct free-kick on top of the Ever-Ready box. Sandip kicked over the ‘wall’ and the experienced Kalyan Chowbey, it seemed, was so ‘unsighted’ that he could not move as the ball moved in.

More misses later, Tollygunge official Mantu Ghosh said it was “strange” that the IFA secretary could make such a comment and Ever-Ready’s president and sponsor Utpal Ganguly said it was a ‘clean’ match. Tollygunge coach-on-notice Subrata Bhattacharya said it was “necessary to film internal matters of the IFA first.”


Tollygunge Agragami: Chinmoy Banerjee, Kobijit Khotel, Sujit Neogi, Partha Sarathi Dey, Gautam Debvnath, Isiaka Awoyemi, Sandip Das, Manik Barman (Koustav Ghosh, 24; Sanjay Das, 81), Suman Dutta (Shamsi Reza, 58), Amit Das, Akeen Abolanle.

Ever-Ready: Kalyan Chowbey, Rajib Ahmed, Surojit Cfhakraborty, Tarak Nath, Bimal Sarkar, Jayanta Sen, Md Rafique (Surojit Chakraborty, 58), Biswarup Bisu, Satyajit Bose (Sujit Bose, 73), Eugene Gray, Earnest Jeremiah.

Referee: Subrata Sarkar

Email This Page