The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Coaches plan cross country

The Athletic Coaches Association of Bengal, known for novel ideas, has planned a six-leg ‘cross country league’ to spot talent. Races will be held in the districts and there will be a Rs 62,000 prize purse with the winner claiming Rs 10,000 and the runners-up claiming Rs 8,000. Races will be 8km for men and 4km for women.

Some of the top athletes of the state will be in fray. They include state u-20 boys’ 1,500m champion Sujit Biswas, state girls’ 1,500m and 3,000m toppers Bandana Biswa and Pratima Tudu.

The first three venues have so far been decided. They are: Muchisa, South 24 Parganas; Sahagunge, Hooghly and Bolpur. The events take off Sunday and will be held every fortnight following.

There will also be concurrent coaches’ education courses, it was disclosed at a press meet Thursday.

CSA-ILSS final

Calcutta Sports Asociaation (CSA) and Indian Life Saving Society (ILSS) will meet in the final of the all-Bengal Arnika Plus open waterpolo meet Saturday.

In the semi-finals Thursday, over the YMCA course at the College Square pool CSA beat YMCA 9-3, Rafiqul Seikh scoring four and ILSS got the better of College Square Swimming Club 11-7.

4 red cards

A particular match in fifth division Thursday, between Arunoday and Goans turned rather boisterous and referee Subhendu Ghosh had to march three players from Arunoday and one from Goans out. Abhijit Patra, Pintu Das and Rajat Ghosh were ejected from Arunoday (losers 0-1), and Santu Ghosh from Goans.

Schools meet

Thangapara HS emerged Raigunge champions in the Britannia-Anandabazar Cup soccer meet when they beat Kendpukur HS 4-1 via the tie-breaker in the final Thursday. In Cooch Behar Baradakanta Vidyapith beat Netaji Vidyapith HS 3-1.


FOOTBALL: CFL first div. Gr. A Calcutta Customs vs George Telegraph (Howrah), City AC vs Salkia Friends (Mohun Bagan), Kalighat vs ECL SA (Tarun Sangha), Kidderpore vs Police AC (Bata Stadium), Howrah Union vs Aryan (Rabindra Sarovar). Matches from 3.30pm.

Email This Page