The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

CAB best player unlikely

The award for the CAB Player of the Season may remain unclaimed this year. There has hardly been any notable performances last season, with Bengal barely managing to hold on to their Ranji Trophy Elite Division place. Last year, batsman Subhamoy Das had won the award.

Also, there is unlikely to be any takers for the best pace bowler of the year award. For the past two seasons, Bengal have failed to find a suitable candidate for this prize.

The CAB has also decided to take the Jadavpur University ground in Salt Lake on lease for hosting the BCCI-organised matches. Rs 26 lakh has been granted for the renovation of the ground.

It has been learnt that the CAB will decide on the state senior team coach in the next few days. The matter has reportedly been taken up by CAB president Jagmohan Dalmiya and Robin Singh’s name is being discussed prominently.

Eastern Railway win title

Eastern Railway emerged champions in the Dr Bimal Kumar Chandra all-India invitation (open) waterpolo meet, beating South Eastern Railway 9-6 in the final at Azad Hind Bagh Saturday.

Sandip Dutta of the Eastern Railway team,who scored four goals in the final including a hattrick, was named best player of the tournament.

Indian Life Saving Society defeated College Square SC 7-1 to take the third place. Babu Naiya was the leading scorer, with four goals.

TT meet

Soumyadeep Biswas and Sandipan Dey made it to the nursery boys final of Ballygunge Institute table tennis championships Saturday. In the semi-finals, Soumyadeep beat Anubhav Kundu 11-9, 11-6, while Sandipan triumphed over Saikat Samanta 11-6, 11-8.

In the cadet girls category, Tulika Roy and Shreya Ghosh will face each other in the final.

Schools’ soccer

Bappa Acharya and Binod Soren scored one each helping Burdwan Dhita Institution beat Birbhum Lichupatti HS 2-0 in their Hooghly zone match of the Britannia-Anandabazar Cup football meet Saturday.

In the North 24 Parganas zone, Agarpara Mahajati Vidyapith beat Chaltia Sree Guru Pathsala 2-1. Sankar Oraon and Haradhan Dolui scored for the Agarpara school while Somen Sharma struck for the losers.


TABLE TENNIS: Ballygunge Institute meet — sub-junior boys, girls, men and women’s singles matches from 9.30 am.

Email This Page