The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Bengal quintet in shortlist

Five from Bengal — Rupali Haldar, Amrita Sinha, Geeta Das, Jhuma Bag and Tania Chatterjee — are among the 20 picked in the Indian women’s selection trials for the world gymnastics championships to be held in Anaheim, US, later this year. The camp is already underway at the SAI, Eastern Centre, and will continue till July 13. The team, however, will be announced on July 10.

Primary list: Tumpa Debnath, Safoora Moosa (both Andhra), Sundari Mandal, Rakhi Debnath, P. Sarita, Pampa Dey (all Railways), Rupali Haldar, Amrita Sinha, Geeta Das, Jhuma Bag, Tania Chatterjee (all Bengal), Sukhbir Kaur, G. Meenakshi, Rohika, Manjeet Kaur (all Punjab), Ashmita Chitale, Lalitha Mehta (Maharashtra), Pinky Dev (Tripura), Seema Yadav (UP).

Dead heat

The race between Birla High and Khalsa High in the junior boys’ section of the Indian Oil Servo inter-school regatta ended in a dead heat at the Lake Club course Monday. The teams touched the finish line simultaneously. It will be held again.


Senior boys: Don Bosco bt Jain Vidyalaya; St Xavier’s bt Hartley’s; South Point bt Birla High; National High bt New Alipore; Birla High bt St Lawrence; St Joseph and Mary bt Bhowanipore Gujarati. Junior boys: Khalsa English bt M.P. Birla; Future Hope bt St Joseph and Mary; St James bt South Point; Jagadamba High bt St Xavier’s. Senior girls: G.D. Birla bt Calcutta Girls; Junior girls: Modern High bt National High; Our Lady Queen of the Mission bt South Point.

Coaches’ course

The AIFF started a free license course for aspiring coaches at SAI Eastern Centre Monday. In all, 20 players, including seventeen Bengal veterans like Tarun Dey and Satyajit Chatterjee, have been undergoing the course, to run for a fortnight.

Umpires’ AGM

The 22nd Annual General Meeting of the state cricket umpires’ association will be held at Moulali Yuba Kendra Tuesday. The meeting will be followed by a blood donation camp.


FOOTBALL: CFL Super Division — Md Sp vs Wari AC (Salt Lake ); Railway FC vs Bhratri Sangha (Howrah Stadium). 1st div gr A: Milan Bithree vs Aryan (East Bengal); CFC vs Customs (Md. Sp); BNR vs Peerless (Tarun Sangha); FCI vs City AC (SAP, I). Matches from 3.30 pm.

REGATTA: Inter-school meet at Lake Club course.

Email This Page