The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Marcos to arrive Saturday

The clouds of uncertainty over one of Mohun Baganís Brazilian recruits were cleared Saturday. Marcos Pereiraís travel documents and ticket have been sent, but he would be arriving next Saturday only. He will, thus, miss Mohun Baganís CFL Super Division opener against West Bengal Police which is scheduled for that day.

But no headway has yet been made on Jose Ramirez Barreto. Mohun Bagan officials met this evening to discuss ways and means of arranging the money which is due to the playmaker-cum-striker. No oneís counting on his presence in the first match, but thereís no guarantee either of Barreto reaching the city in time for the July 5 derby against East Bengal. The officials will sit with the three special officers Monday to find a way out.

Soccer washout

The daylong monsoon showers, which threw normal life in the city out of gear, ruined the afternoonís football schedule too. None of the 14 Calcutta League matches on the Saturday card ó three in first division group B, five in fourth division and six in fifth division ó could get underway due to unplayable ground conditions.

Sayantan wins

Sayantan Dutta won the Alekhine Chess Club national B selection meet at the Gorky Sadan Saturday.

In the final round, Sayantan (6.5) beat Sudip Mallik while Somak Palit with 5.5 emerged second. Dipankar Guha and Tanmoy Pattanayak finished third and fourth.

Sayantan and Arghyadip Das will represent Goodricke National Chess Academy in the forthcoming national B meet in Nagpur in August while Dipankar and Tanmoy will represent Alekhine Chess Club.

Double for hosts

Hosts Calcutta bagged both team titles in the 28th all-India inter-YMCA table tennis championships Saturday. Arup Basak won both his matches to power the Calcutta A menís team to a 3-1 triumph over Calcutta B. In the womenís final, Calcutta routed Nagpur 3-0.


Menís final: Calcutta A bt Calcutta B 3-1 (Shantanu Majumdar bt Kaushik Das 3-1; Arup Basak bt Debdut Chatterjee 3-0; Saurav Sengupta lost 0-3 to Amlan Patra; Arup bt Kaushik 3-0).

Womenís final: Calcutta bt Nagpur 3-0 (Moumita Das bt Arti Sharma 3-0; Kanchan Basak bt Gauri Kaore 3-2; Chandrani Dey bt Rucha Kelkar 3-0.


FOOTBALL: Cluster championship play-off final: Eastern Railway vs Ever-Ready (Howrah Stadium, 3 pm).

REGATTA: Indian Oil-Servo national inter-school meet: First dayís races at Lake Club course from 4 pm.

Email This Page