The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Mukti fastest woman of meet
- Four records created and one equalled on Day II; Ram Prasad Atta makes it 12 out of 13

Calcutta: Four meet records were written and one equalled on the second day of the 53rd state athletic championships at Salt Lake Stadium and SAI, Eastern Centre Friday.

Mukti Saha emerged the fastest woman, although she missed out on the record. The experienced Eastern Railway sprinter broke away from the pack near the 70m mark to win the 100m comfortably in 11.9 seconds.

The record-breakers on another steamy day were Ram Prasad Atta in men’s discus, Dipak Singh in boys’ under-20 discus, Rahmatullah Molla in boys’ under-18 200m and Mallika Mondal in girls’ under-20 high jump. Shilpi Dhali equalled the girls’ under-20 100m mark.

Atta, a 29-year-old discus thrower representing Mohun Bagan, has been dominating his event for almost a decade and a half. His effort of 45.14 metres Friday bettered his own mark of 44.60 set last year.

This was the 12th time Atta had won the discus event in 13 years at the state meet.

Malda boy Dipak Singh hurled the discus a distance of 39.90 metres to comfortably improve Mithun Patra’s record of 35.38 in the boys’ under-20 category. Rahmatullah Molla of South 24 Parganas clocked 22.3 seconds in the boys’ under-18 200m race to overturn Dipankar Gayen’s existing mark (22.6).

The day’s sole record on the distaff side was crafted by Mallika Mondal who leapt 1.67 metres in girls’ under-20 high jump. The versatile Mallika, representing City AC, also won the 100 hurdles in 16.7 seconds.

Nadia’s Shilpi Dhali equalled the girls’ under-20 100m mark by clocking 12.1 seconds.

Sanjay Rai predictably won the men’s long jump without a problem but fell short of his targeted distance of 7.50 metres in his comeback event. Rai, a silver-medallist at the 2000 ATF meet, managed a best of 7.26 this morning — almost 60 centimetres clear of the second-placed athlete. RESULTS (Only winners)

MEN — Open 20km walk: Goutam Chakraborty (East Bengal) 1::55.57; U-18 5,000m: Goutam Roy (North Dinajpur) 17:08.3; U-20 10km walk: Diptangshu Bhattacharya (North 24 Pgs) 56:56; U-18 10km walk: Kamalendu Mukherjee (North 24 Pgs) 1::06.44; Open long jump: Sanjay Rai (E. Rly) 7.26m; U-16 5km walk: Arup Rakshit (Pioneer SA) 28:47.0; Open discus: Ram Prasad Atta (Mohun Bagan) 45.14m — NMR; U-20 long jump: Susen Roy (Chandannagar) 6.64m; U-20 discus: Dipak Singh (Malda) 39.90m — NMR; Open 800m: Arghya Majumdar (Central Excise) 1:55.6; U-20 800m: Bachhu Durlav (Nadia) 1:58.6; U-18 800m: Pradyut Bhowmick (North 24 Pgs); U-16 800m: Manoj Oraon (North 24 Pgs) 2:04.3; U-16 100m hurdles: Tanka Roy (North Dinajpur) 13.8; U-18 long jump: Anisur Rahman Biswas (North 24 Pgs) 6.56m; U-18 discus: Sirazul Haque (Malda) 35.97m; Open 200m: Sheikh Samsher (Hooghly) 22.3; U-20 200m: Manoj Das (Siliguri) 22.7; U-18 200m: Rahmatullah Molla (South 24 Pgs) 22.3 — NMR; U-16 long jump: Jahar Mondal (North 24 Pgs) 6.21m.

WOMEN — U-18 100m hurdles: Santi Barman (Jalpaiguri) 16.5; Open shot put: Chaitali Pal (E. Rly) 14.29m; U-20 shot put: Chhabi Ghosh (Malda) 11.15m; U-20 100m: Shilpi Dhali (Nadia) 12.1 — EMR; U-20 high jump: Mallika Mondal (City AC) 1.67m — NMR; Open high jump: Lucy Deshmukh (E. Rly) 1.55m; U-16 100m hurdles: Sreyoshi Das (North 24 Pgs) 16.9; U-18 high jump: Santi Barman (Jalpaiguri) 1.56m; U-18 shot put: Dipali Ghosh (Malda) 9.66m; U-20 100m hurdles: Mallika Mondal (City AC) 16.7; Open 100m hurdles: Tushi Deshmukh (City AC) 15.0; U-16 shot put: Suparna Ghosh 8.76m; U-16 high jump: Antara Khatun (North 24 Pgs) 1.47m; Open 100m: Mukti Saha (E. Rly) 11.9; U-20 100m: Shilpi Dhali (Nadia) 12.1; U-18 100m: Rekha Haldar (North 24 Pgs) 12.6; U-16 100m: Arjina Khatun (North 24 Pgs) 12.5; U-20 5000m: Nasima Khatun (Aryan) 19::45.4; Open 5000m: Sabita Biswas (E. Rly) 18::22.6.

Email This Page