The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Six African countries official bidders

Zurich: Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa and Tunisia were confirmed as official bidders to host the 2010 World Cup finals by Fifa on Tuesday.

World soccer’s governing body has already decided that the tournament will take place in Africa for the first time to start a planned rotation of their showpiece event between the continents.

“I am thrilled that we have six candidates formally confirmed as official bidders for the 2010 Fifa World Cup,” said FIFA president Sepp Blatter.

All six countries met Saturday’s deadline by submitting documents to Fifa showing they had the full support of their governments and could provide guarantees on issues like security, accommodation, right of entry and taxation.

South Africa will start as favourites after narrowly, and controversially, losing out to Germany in their bid to host the 2006 tournament.

Bidding countries have until the end of September to complete their bid documents and submit them to Fifa, who will then examine them and arrange for inspections between October 1 and January 31, 2004.

The final decision will be made by the Fifa executive committee in Paris next May.

Email This Page