The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Ever-Ready get a sponsor

The Ever-Ready football team will be sponsored by Officer’s Choice in the ensuing season. This was announced at a press conference Monday. Ever-Ready, who featured in the CFL Super Division for the first time last year, will again be featuring in the elite division this season. They are also pariticipating in the Tata Steel IFA Shield Cluster tournament where they have been placed in group D and open against Sonali Shibir Thursday in Hooghly.

The team management has roped in Amal Dutta, the target being to make it to next year’s National League qualifying tournament. The high-profile coach, though, didn’t specify any goal for the coming season. “I am there for six months for the time being, let’s see how the team fares,” Dutta said.

Cluster meet

Peerless and George Telegraph won their Tata Steel IFA Shield Cluster tournament matches hands down. Peerless thumped Anusilani 4-0 in Malda while George Telegraph beat Nadia DSA 4-1 in Krishnanagar.


In Cooch Behar: Police AC bt Calcutta Port Trust 2-0. In Raniganj: Eastern Railway bt Wari 1-0. In Balurghat: CFC bt Victoria SC 3-1. In Jalpaiguri: Railway FC bt Garalgacha SC 2-1. In Bardhaman: Howrah Union drew Calcutta University 1-1.

Amit for Tolly

Amit Das, the once highly-rated midfielder who has donned the colours of all three big teams, has signed for Tollygunge Agragami. Sumit Debnath and Narayan Saha will also wear Tollygunge jerseys next season.

Income Tax win

Shilpi Deb scored four goals to power Income Tax to an 8-0 win over Bidyut Sporting in an IFA Women’s League match at Mohun Bagan ground. At Rabindra Sarobar, Nabajanma beat Youth Footballers 3-0.

Calcutta Cup

Sarsuna CCC, Barisha CCC and Chandannagar CA won their matches in the Vijay Sports Club-organised Calcutta Cup sub-junior cricket meet.


Dragon CC 102/8 (Punit Rawat 35; Manoj Tiwari 2/23). Sarsuna CCC 103/5 (Ujjal Ghosh 40). Sarsuna won by 5 wkts.

Excelsiors 100/9 (S. Bhatnagar 37; S.S. Banerjee 3/12). Barisha CCC 101/4 (S. Guha 47 n.o.). Barisha won by 6 wkts.

Sarat Samity 91 (Z. Rahman 26; T. Ghosh 4/10, S. Ghosh 4/12). Chandannagar CA 103/3 (Pradipta Mallick 48 n.o.; Sk Noor Islam 2/14). Chandannagar won by 7 wkts.

Email This Page